Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13. Feb 2011, 07:47 PM   #71 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

@Anupam
I'm not seeing any significant difference in page loading times with FF4 b11, but my mobile broadband is a bit patchy today so i'll try it again tomorrow with FF3 and with FF4. I did just notice that BetterPrivacy is now working with the beta though.
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2011, 07:54 PM   #72 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Thanks Garth ... I will be waiting.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 07:37 AM   #73 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Can any of you tell me... the speed difference in opening up pages, with NoScript, and without NoScript? Am asking that because when Firefox 3 came out, someone shared that NoScript made Firefox slow... and I found that to be true. I haven't been using NoScript since then. Would like to know if this still holds true with Firefox 4.

Please tell me the above without using Firefox with Sandboxie... just plain Firefox .
I've found the opposite to be true..Thanks to noscript, pages are loading faster (my personal experience) in both firefox 3.6.13 (the latest stable version) and Firefox 4.0 beta 11. I think that this could be dependent on your Internet connection speed and of course, your ram, antivirus software etc...
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 08:33 AM   #74 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Thanks Concerned User. Well yes, it could be the speed of my net, because its on the slower side. I will wait for garth's reply as well, and then I will try out NoScript once more to see how it goes. I am sure, RAM(1 GB) and Avast are not a problem here.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 05:32 PM   #75 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Ok so i've tested FF3 and FF4 with and without noscript. I used the same bookmarks each time, clearing cookies and history in the second round of tests and i am not seeing any significant difference while using NoScript. In addition, the current FF4 beta does not seem to be out performing FF3 in any meaningful way. Hope this helps
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2011, 06:22 PM   #76 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Thanks a lot garth. I will give NoScript a whirl again.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 03:02 AM   #77 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Beta 12 will be the last beta
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Firef...a-184261.shtml
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 07:02 AM   #78 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av_Crazy View Post
Let's keep our fingers crossed

A nice article which debates whether Mozilla's roadmap is ambitious or not:

http://arstechnica.com/open-source/n...-ambitious.ars
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 09:35 AM   #79 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Thanks for that article Concerned User. Very interesting and informative read... and I agree with what's been said in it, specially the concluding part.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2011, 09:52 PM   #80 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

I've had some issues with radio buttons on websites not working properly and found out today this only occurs in FF4 beta versions (on my machine anyway). I'm not sure if this has been consistent across the five betas i've tested because i've not always had occasion to use radio buttons, but definitely b.11 and at least one other from b.7 on. Has anybody else encountered this?
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.