Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Jan 2011, 11:15 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Hi garth,

The faster rendering times is good news. About the startup times, do you mean cold or subsequent ones?
Both really but there is an improvement in subsequent startups. It doesn't exactly leap into action but if that's the worst that can be said of this browser then it's no big deal.
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2011, 07:48 AM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

@ Garth:

After I downgraded to XP, I did find out one of the reasons for Firefox's slow start up (this is my personal experience only). I'm currently using Firefox's stable version (3.6.13). Also using Comodo's firewall.

Since I am not a high risk user (of course, I'm anyways paranoid when it comes to Internet security, I decided to use only Comodo's firewall component and disabled Defense + completely.

I was amazed by Firefox's startup (5 seconds) and this was a cold boot. Warm boots are almost instant.

When I did use Windows 7, the startup was even more faster. I'm also guessing that Windows Vista and 7 do not have such start up problems and it is XP which is not optimized.

Hope this helps someone.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2011, 03:10 PM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
@ Garth:

After I downgraded to XP, I did find out one of the reasons for Firefox's slow start up (this is my personal experience only). I'm currently using Firefox's stable version (3.6.13). Also using Comodo's firewall.

Since I am not a high risk user (of course, I'm anyways paranoid when it comes to Internet security, I decided to use only Comodo's firewall component and disabled Defense + completely.

I was amazed by Firefox's startup (5 seconds) and this was a cold boot. Warm boots are almost instant.

When I did use Windows 7, the startup was even more faster. I'm also guessing that Windows Vista and 7 do not have such start up problems and it is XP which is not optimized.

Hope this helps someone.
I don't use Comodo (i used to use their firewall when it was just a stand alone) and have concluded that my FF is going to take as long as it takes and i'm not going to grumble, but thanks for that
After my (regular) Firefox became unstable to the point of unusable yesterday (this began after it updated itself) i have now switched back to the beta and will stay with it now until the full release of FF4. FF4 (beta) just seems lighter somehow and since it is now more stable than FF3 i see no reason to revert as things stand. All i'm waiting for now is compatibility with KeyScrambler.
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2011, 09:30 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
... All i'm waiting for now is compatibility with KeyScrambler.
Version 2.7.1 of KeyScrambler Personal is supposed to be Firefox 4 Beta7 and later compatible, as per their What's New.
Did you try that without success?
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2011, 10:00 PM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Version 2.7.1 of KeyScrambler Personal is supposed to be Firefox 4 Beta7 and later compatible, as per their What's New.
Did you try that without success?
Thanks for that 26Dolphins i didn't know there was an updated KeyScrambler. Installed over the other with no probs
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2011, 10:57 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
Thanks for that 26Dolphins i didn't know there was an updated KeyScrambler. Installed over the other with no probs
You're welcome; I did mention it yesterday and was wondering if you tried it and if it worked, but I probably didn't make it obvious enough in my first post.

Glad to hear that everything works fine. I've delayed my own check as I'm testing Opera as well.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2011, 12:24 AM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
I did mention it yesterday and was wondering if you tried it and if it worked, but I probably didn't make it obvious enough in my first post.
As it turns out you did make it completely obvious i just somehow forgot. I see i even responded to where you posted it

Just installed FF4 beta 8 and it is not yet compatible with BetterPrivacy.

Thanks again 26Dolphins
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2011, 07:11 AM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Secure Login seems to have been updated for the latest beta.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2011, 09:51 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
As it turns out you did make it completely obvious i just somehow forgot. I see i even responded to where you posted it

Just installed FF4 beta 8 and it is not yet compatible with BetterPrivacy.

Thanks again 26Dolphins
No worries garth, I myself just read your reply without paying attention to what you quoted.

Anyway, I think I may have some good news for you. BetterPrivacy has a newer version (1.48.4) on the developer's site that seems to be compatible with Firefox 4.08b, though not stated explicitly. I used that myself and got no complains, so it may be worth a try.

I'm testing the latest beta as a portable without uninstalling my regular Firefox, which doesn't seem to be the best idea: I got one crash already which caused a slight mess with my profiles. Also, the navigation bar doesn't always display the urls correctly - not sure if that's a beta bug or a glitch between the two versions I have.

So far, I'll agree with you on page rendering and start up times, especially the required restarts when installing add-ons are lightning fast. I only wish Firefox wouldn't ask me at least three times to allow the installation.

I'm sorry to see the features of the status bar gone (I know that all that info is given in the navigation bar, but to me it's not that obvious as it looks more like a watermark) and it doesn't really serve any purpose, as that space is still reserved for the new add-ons bar, which you won't keep hidden if you use add-ons like Adblock Plus, NoScript, Cookie Monster, RequestPolicy, Redirect Remover, etc. - unless you move all that to the Menu Bar.

Have to look more into it and maybe wait for the final, stable version as some of my add-ons are still not compatible (though Firefox 3.6.13 feels now terrible speed wise).
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2011, 10:28 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post

Anyway, I think I may have some good news for you. BetterPrivacy has a newer version (1.48.4) on the developer's site that seems to be compatible with Firefox 4.08b, though not stated explicitly. I used that myself and got no complains, so it may be worth a try.

I'm testing the latest beta as a portable without uninstalling my regular Firefox, which doesn't seem to be the best idea: I got one crash already which caused a slight mess with my profiles. Also, the navigation bar doesn't always display the urls correctly - not sure if that's a beta bug or a glitch between the two versions I have.

.
Worth a try but FF4b8 won't install this latest version of BetterPrivacy. Says not compatible. Anyway it never takes long for these things to catch up with whatever browser update so no probs

It's possibly the two versions conflicting because i too have had the occasional problem, but nothing severe enough to mess with my settings or anything....just the FF has stopped working message. The sandbox is confusing the whole issue (for me) also so i'm going to take FF3 off and just run this beta for a day or three to see what happens. The problems seem to occur when i swap between the two browsers, and for some reason the website app i have to use at work will only launch in FF3 so like i say, confusing.

So far the only things i don't like about the toolbar area are the facts that i no longer have a visual reference to show my browser is sandboxed (i find it strangely reassuring) and the thing about the bookmarks i mentioned in a previous post. I do like the thing for grouping tabs and i still think it's a great looking software.
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.