Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11. Mar 2011, 10:37 PM   #141 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

So far Chrome and Firefox are "unbeaten" because none of the hackers for both browsers did not show up. Curiously, both browsers were updated a few days before the event: The iphone and blackberry were hacked

http://arstechnica.com/security/news...x-no-shows.ars

It's been a no-show for both Chrome and Firefox so far....

Startup times with Firefox 4 have been quite good for me so far.

Just read about an addon which promises to improve startup times for Firefox:

http://downloadsquad.switched.com/20...est-hack-ever/

This addon is by a Mozilla Developer. Unfortunately, it's not yet available for Win XP....If any of you guys are running Win 7, you could probably test it out.

Quote:
Start Faster, which requires Firefox 4 and only works on Windows Vista and 7 at the moment, installs a service that speeds up the loading of Firefox's gorillaesque DLL libaries. The service runs with Administrator privileges, which allows Firefox to bypass the Windows prefetcher, improving start-up time by up to 100%. The one caveat is that you must launch Firefox using the new "Faster Firefox" shortcut that will be dumped on your desktop after installing the add-on



https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...tartupservice/

Memory consumption needs more proper testing...So far, it seems to have increased a bit..Will report back about this later.

Last edited by Concerned User; 11. Mar 2011 at 10:49 PM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 07:22 AM   #142 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

One well kept secret in Latin America is that our best looking ladies are from
Colombia and for some reason, Firefox4 reminds me of one from Medellin.


Alright, just trying to bring this thread back from the other side. So far, so
good with FF4, liking it more everyday. No issue whatsoever. I don't even
mind anymore that the status bar is gone. To replace the status bar,
Mozilla created the addon bar, which can be tailor to our particular needs.
I did so and now I would not trade it for the status bar.


Bo.
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 08:45 AM   #143 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
One well kept secret in Latin America is that our best looking ladies are from
Colombia and for some reason, Firefox4 reminds me of one from Medellin.


March 22 should should see the final release of Firefox 4:

http://groups.google.com/group/mozil...347956e4693eb#

@bo: same here! no problems with the status bar...The RC looks solid. I'm using it as my main browser. Cold boot startup times are very fast. How about you?

One more thing: If I click on the "exit" option on the orange Firefox button or directly from the "file" menu option, the browser closes without any warning (despite the fact that I have multiple tabs open). Is this part of the expected behavior?

Last edited by Concerned User; 16. Mar 2011 at 09:01 AM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 08:50 AM   #144 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
Just read about an addon which promises to improve startup times for Firefox:

This addon is by a Mozilla Developer. Unfortunately, it's not yet available for Win XP....If any of you guys are running Win 7, you could probably test it out.
I tried this addon briefly and forgot to post back about it. Verdict: didn't make much difference as far as i can tell. I kept the Status-4-Evar addon mentioned earlier in this thread though.
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 10:04 AM   #145 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
:

@bo: same here! no problems with the status bar...The RC looks solid. I'm using it as my main browser. Cold boot startup times are very fast. How about you?

One more thing: If I click on the "exit" option on the orange Firefox button or directly from the "file" menu option, the browser closes without any warning (despite the fact that I have multiple tabs open). Is this part of the expected behavior?
I ll say my cold start is holding up better than ever before but one thing that
I have noticed in the past, with Firefox, is that some versions have better
cold starts than others. In other words, even though version 4 has a better
cold start, I would not be surprised if version 4.01 is slower. It has happened
before.
I am not using the orange button but I closed Firefox using the exit button,
with 2 tabs open and Firefox closed without a warning. I had not noticed
it before because I, basically, never close my browser that way since I am
always browsing sandboxed. My friend, I think you should do the same. OK.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 10:07 AM   #146 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
I tried this addon briefly and forgot to post back about it. Verdict: didn't make much difference as far as i can tell. I kept the Status-4-Evar addon mentioned earlier in this thread though.
Hey garth, after the rirst 2 days using the Beta/RC and stopping
using the addon, plugin container has not shown up more than once
at any time. I can conclude that on my computer, the addon has
a conflict somewhere but I will try it again a few days after the
stable version is out. If it works fine, I ll leave it on.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 10:16 AM   #147 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
One more thing: If I click on the "exit" option on the orange Firefox button or directly from the "file" menu option, the browser closes without any warning (despite the fact that I have multiple tabs open). Is this part of the expected behavior?
Umm...you click exit and then are surprised when it does exactly that?
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 10:22 AM   #148 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
Umm...you click exit and then are surprised when it does exactly that?
There use to be a prompt, asking you if you really wanted to close all
open tabs. I rarely saw this since I always close my browser with SBIE
or when I close it unsandboxed , never have more than one tab open,
I am very methodical in everything that I do, this included.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 10:32 AM   #149 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
There use to be a prompt, asking you if you really wanted to close all
open tabs. I rarely saw this since I always close my browser with SBIE
or when I close it unsandboxed , never have more than one tab open,
I am very methodical in everything that I do, this included.

Bo
Yeah i remember the prompt, was just mildly amused....sorry just my childish sense of humour
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Mar 2011, 10:09 AM   #150 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
Yeah i remember the prompt, was just mildly amused....sorry just my childish sense of humour


It's a bit of pain that they did away with the status bar, since i cannot see how much of the download is complete...

The status 4 evar addon is good, but right now I'm using the Download status bar addon and it's doing the job for me:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...oad-statusbar/

What addon(s) are you guys using?
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.