Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Dec 2010, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default Programmable Router for home use?

Hi Guys,

I wonder if you could advise please?

I have a teenage son who is forever locked in his bedroom playing Xbox live, connected via CAT5 cable to my Router.

It is a battle every night to get him to stop, and I was wondering if there are any home routers that would allow me to program in times when an IP address is on, and when its off?

Am I just dreaming, or are there such devices available?

Obviously for home use it needs to be a sensible budget.

All suggestions appreciated.
bemuzeduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 01:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

most routers do this...
One's I've done this on are linksys routers

You could just pull the plug out each night :S otherwise he'll go into settings and change it himself unless you password protect it. In which case he might reset router to bypass password.
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 04:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
You could just pull the plug out each night :S otherwise he'll go into settings and change it himself unless you password protect it. In which case he might reset router to bypass password.
Or can he plug it back
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 08:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

thanks Eyeb, which Linksys router do you use? I shall have a look.

I need to isolate specific IP addresses rather than Ports on the router, as there are more than one PC on that cable.
bemuzeduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 08:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Like eyeb said, most routers have a way to do this. I haven't run across one that doesn't in fact. Some actually have a category called "Access Restriction" other routers may simply call it something like, "IP Address Filtering." Once you find the options there should be a way to set a time frame to allow/deny access to an IP of your choosing.

Also as was already mentioned you do need to make sure you have your admin password set to control access to the router.

If you need more help please let us know which router you have. Brand & Model.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2010, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
BezantSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 3
Thumbs up There is help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bemuzeduk View Post
o o o I have a teenage son who is forever locked in his bedroom playing Xbox live, connected via CAT5 cable to my Router.
I can resemble this, and can offer some real-world advice based on my own experience as the Home CSO.
Quote:
It is a battle every night to get him to stop, and I was wondering if there are any home routers that would allow me to program in times when an IP address is on, and when its off?
  • Most good home routers will offer access restrictions of some sort. It may include by time, by day, by mac address, by IP address. This kind of restriction can come in with the OOB installation.
  • For finer grain control, one of the router aftermarket open source firmware packages can offer more options, including QOS rate limiting (e.g. Xbox gaming protocol limits.)
  • The other thing that some of the OOB firmwares and definitely the after-market firmwares offer is DDNS. With OpenDNS (a high recommendation here) or DynDNS and their ilk, you can filter categories.
Quote:
Am I just dreaming, or are there such devices available?
Some the brands that offer the firmware option (to give you the most flexibility) would include Linksys, Buffalo, ASUS, D-Link, Allnet, Belkin, Microsoft, Motorola, Ravo, Siemens. I'm sure there are others.
Quote:
Obviously for home use it needs to be a sensible budget. All suggestions appreciated.
I got my top of the line Linksys E3000 Gigabit, Simultaneous Dual Band A,B,G,N Storage router locally about a year ago for about $150. I'm running TomatoUSB firmware on it. Well worth it for my complex SOHO net setup.
Cheaper, less capable routers are available. The one thing to do is to let your search engine and forums like this one be the guide, before you go to the store or shop online.
Lastly, a home network management package like Network Magic can offer another layer of protection for you.
/s/ Bezantsoft
BezantSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2010, 09:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Quote:
I got my top of the line Linksys E3000 Gigabit, Simultaneous Dual Band A,B,G,N Storage router locally about a year ago for about $150. I'm running TomatoUSB firmware on it. Well worth it for my complex SOHO net setup.
Cheaper, less capable routers are available. The one thing to do is to let your search engine and forums like this one be the guide, before you go to the store or shop online.
Lastly, a home network management package like Network Magic can offer another layer of protection for you.
I paid about $30 dollars for my TP-link and it does most of what BezantSoft mentions above. I don't know about things like QOS rate limiting, but overall it has a lot of options. So no need to break the bank. Just do a little research. I don't care much for Belkin but that is only based on having trouble with one before. I like D-Link and Linksys. Have not had any experience with the others.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2010, 11:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

thanks Guys, now I know its possible, I shall use the time over christmas to:

a) see if its possible with my current Router
b) buy an alternative

thanks again
bemuzeduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Dec 2010, 07:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

This week I bought a D-Link wireless DI-524 for 80 Reais which I understand is now discontinued in the real world but still widely used here in Brazil and was recommended by my tech

This I know for certain has this feature. Some software firewalls also offer this function which would enable control independently of the router settings.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Dec 2010, 07:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

i dont think xbox can be installed with software firewalls though :S
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.