Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04. Dec 2010, 02:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

FF slower than ie [ same pic that u have posted ]

Opera is fast i dont deny it
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Dec 2010, 08:51 AM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 129
Default

Are you using Opera USB or PortableOpera? I have used Opera for at least 8 years and refused to give up when I tried the Opera USB 10.63 and couldn't get flash to work. I have it blocked 99% of the time but when I want it I want it. I finally went to OperaPortable and it's all working great.
Av Crazy the difference in speed is most notable on slow connections. I only got away from dialup 3 years ago and the only "broadband" I can get is a rather slow satellite. Believe me, Opera beats them all on speed then.
miskairal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Dec 2010, 06:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Tried Tab Vault but it keeps crashing the browser, looking at the install page I see others are having the same problem so maybe a fix will come soon. The built in tab stacker works well enough though, similar sort of thing, although even that can be a bit irritating .. like trying to push two magnets together. The tabs just kind of slip around and won't stack sometimes. Early days though.

Still no WOT. Seems they're having problems fixing parts of the API, although they say they're working on it, but it would be nice to have it in Opera and once it becomes available [and works] then that's me sorted.

I like the built in safe address field feature as well.
New version of tab vault just been released. The problems I see mentioned about the new tab stacking in Opera 11 might be down to how you are using it. I find you only have to drag the tab a tiny bit just so it is touching another tab let go and hey presto it is stacked, you do not have to get it exact and overlap the other tab completely for this to work. takes very little practice. Hope this helps. Sorry forgot to mention also the little arrows on the tabs that you just have to click to help with stacking
cheffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Dec 2010, 09:49 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,498
Default

Ahaa! - the little arrows. I never noticed they changed direction when using the stacked tabs. That's why I was getting the pushed magnets effect when trying to re stack them. I'll give the tab vault another try. Thanks for that
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Dec 2010, 10:22 PM   #25 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Ahaa! - the little arrows. I never noticed they changed direction when using the stacked tabs. That's why I was getting the pushed magnets effect when trying to re stack them. I'll give the tab vault another try. Thanks for that
This is the link to the new release of tab vault sorry did not mention it has not been added yet to the main extension page.
http://my.opera.com/spadija/blog/tab-vault
cheffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Dec 2010, 10:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miskairal View Post
Are you using Opera USB or PortableOpera? I have used Opera for at least 8 years and refused to give up when I tried the Opera USB 10.63 and couldn't get flash to work. I have it blocked 99% of the time but when I want it I want it. I finally went to OperaPortable and it's all working great.
I'm using this version of Opera portable but it doesn't come with flash and pdf plugins. And i don't have Flash Player installed on my pc because the only other browser i use is Chrome with the built in flash plugin.
I thought i could make it work with "portable" plugins, i downloaded the NPSWF32.dll (flash) and nppdf32.dll (adobe pdf), but i don't know where to put them (don't give me the first answer that comes in your mind ) to make them work.
Note that i keep all my portable apps in my secondary partition.
I don't really care about the pdf plugin but flash, i can't do without. What are these Opera USB and Portable Opera that you're talking about? These two?

http://www.opera-usb.com/operausben.htm

http://www.kejut.com/operaportable

Do they come with flash built in?
mrpink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 12:50 AM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,498
Default

cheffo - thanks for that, I installed tab vault again and it's working perfect now, no crashes. Installed it from the main extensions page, it's v1.1 so it must have been updated. Bookmarked the blog from the link so I'll keep my eye on it.

Cheers.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 01:30 AM   #28 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpink View Post
I'm using this version of Opera portable but it doesn't come with flash and pdf plugins. And i don't have Flash Player installed on my pc because the only other browser i use is Chrome with the built in flash plugin.
I thought i could make it work with "portable" plugins, i downloaded the NPSWF32.dll (flash) and nppdf32.dll (adobe pdf), but i don't know where to put them (don't give me the first answer that comes in your mind ) to make them work.
Note that i keep all my portable apps in my secondary partition.
I don't really care about the pdf plugin but flash, i can't do without. What are these Opera USB and Portable Opera that you're talking about? These two?

http://www.opera-usb.com/operausben.htm

http://www.kejut.com/operaportable

Do they come with flash built in?
Not sure but this link may help. best of luck. http://my.opera.com/Tamil/blog/how-t...omment18489451

Last edited by cheffo; 06. Dec 2010 at 02:11 AM.
cheffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 06:56 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheffo View Post
Not sure but this link may help. best of luck. http://my.opera.com/Tamil/blog/how-t...omment18489451

You are THE MAN !!!

Yes, finally i got this to work. Before i see your post, i downloaded Firefox 4 beta from portableapps.com and plugins worked just fine. But in FF's directory there was a "plugins" folder where i put them. It was totally straigfhtforward. I thought, ok, i'll download the portableapps.com version of Opera and i'll figure it out. So i did, but still no luck.
There was no "plugins" subfolder inside the "program" folder that is mentioned in the link you provide, i had to create it.

Thanks my friend!
mrpink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 08:37 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,498
Default

Just came across this with the DuckDuckGo search engine. You can now set it to show the WOT ratings in your search results. It works with Opera 11.

If you want to give it a go use this link for the DuckDuck search engine. Then click on 'settings' scroll down to 'site icons', it's set to 'Favicons by default' but if you click to open the drop down menu you'll see the option to use 'WOT ratings'. Click on that and it will change and save your settings. Then when you go back to the search page it will show the WOT ratings in your search results.

It shows the red rated links but it won't block the page from opening if you click them. It's similar to the SurfCanyon thing. Not totally ideal but it's something you can maybe use until the WOT extension is released for Opera. It's worth reading the privacy policy while you're on the settings page.

Just for those of you who want to use Opera but are restricted by not being able to see the WOT ratings, bit of a substitute for the time being.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.