Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Nov 2010, 06:18 AM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
hm... takes 8-9 seconds from time I open FF till homepage is fully loaded inside sandbox
I ll say your FF start up is great. Using 30 addons got to slow it up
some, specially if they are checking for updates at start up. I would
be happy if I was using that amount of addons and had the start up
speed you have. My light FF sandboxed on cold starts takes roughly
5 seconds, maybe three on unsandboxed FF.



Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 06:35 AM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 885
Default

hm... with noscript I just set it to disallow most things (mostly default settings but I probably added a bit too)

and then on sites I visit I just allow that site. then once a month/or a couple months I'll just go and remove all from whitelist and rebuild it

This way I can block flash ads and things i consider spam and since I visit same sites normally I end up with those whitelisted. And rebuilding list every once in a while lets me clean out white list too
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 07:07 AM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
hm... with noscript I just set it to disallow most things (mostly default settings but I probably added a bit too)

and then on sites I visit I just allow that site. then once a month/or a couple months I'll just go and remove all from whitelist and rebuild it

This way I can block flash ads and things i consider spam and since I visit same sites normally I end up with those whitelisted. And rebuilding list every once in a while lets me clean out white list too
Using Sandboxie also helps keeping temporarily allowed websites out of the
whitelist if I forgot to revoke temporary permissions. When I delete the
contents of my sandbox, the whitelist goes back to how it was when the
session started.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 07:54 AM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 885
Default

temporary permissions are set to be removed when browser closes so you don't need sandboxie for that :S
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 08:18 AM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
temporary permissions are set to be removed when browser closes so you don't need sandboxie for that :S
You right, I meant when I "Allow all this page".

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 11:51 AM   #26 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 36
Default

FF version 3.6.12
  • AdBlock Plus
  • CS Lite
  • FoxyProxy Basic
  • GProxy Tool
  • HTTPS-Everywhere
  • Java Console
  • JonDoFox
  • KeeFox
  • KeyScrambler
  • NoScript
  • ProfileSwither
  • ReloadEvery
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tab Mix Plus
  • TorButton
  • Ultrasurf Firefox Tool
  • Unplug
  • User Agent Switcher
  • Web Developer
  • WOT

Blode.
The_Blode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 03:43 PM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
You right, I meant when I "Allow all this page".

Bo
oh i use that with temporarily allow all instead lol. I removed all other choices except temporary allow, temp all, and allow. With 3 choices I wont misclick and make settings permanent as likely
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Nov 2010, 07:35 PM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Even i didnt use noscript till now...but now when i have finally gotten the hang of it m really liking it
and i really dont like sandboxie..tried it many times but i just dont like it..

and i have like 30 + addons but they have not slowed either my startup time or browsing time or any time for that matter
and m back to 3.6.12 coz ff4beta 7 was giving me that slow sluggish behaviour
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Nov 2010, 07:41 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

FF 3.6.12

My new and updated list and hopefully a keeper this time

Adblock
Close n forget
Fast dial
febe
fire.fm
ghostery
gmail checker
google redesigned
gtranslator
hide caption titlebar plus
imagezoom
lastpass
linkification
mr tech toolkit
multilinks
noscript
omnibar
organise status bar
resurrect pages
rotab
save images
scrapbook
smoothwheel
stratabuddy
tab scope
tabberwocky
tab counter
thumbnail zoom
tineye reverse image search
toggle private browsing
wot
youtube to mp3
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Nov 2010, 09:46 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 885
Default

@av_crazy: I got same problem with addons I got 31+/-few for testing lol
Anyways I noticed you got a few duplicated functions if you wanted to cut down on addons lol

If you get mouse gestures and tab mix you an get rid of tabberwocky/rotab and pick up a few extra functions. tab mix plus allows you to do what both tabber/rotab does and mousegestures allows you to rotate tabs without putting mouse in tab bar. My set up for this is I can hold right click+wheel up/down on page to switch tabs or wheel up/down on tabs bar to switch.

you can get rid of the zoom addons by using mouse gestures redox with firefox's built in zoom. my set up is left click+wheel up/down to zoom page/image that I have mouse over

not sure how much you use smoothscroll but you can edit those somewhat in about:config under mousewheel.withcontrolkey. I just prefer to manually edit than to have an addon.

I know you might not want to switch addons but I like to test out new combinations/addons so I thought you might as well so here's some of my alternatives to your list .
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.