Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11. Nov 2010, 04:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152
Default

J.L., Vivek and eyeb, i hope you guys have a broandband connection
otherwise with all these add-ons, i see you click on FF today and opens
tomorrow

And especially sandboxed
mrpink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Nov 2010, 05:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Haha lol ... i ahve good net plan so no worries there
as for the speed of opening ff..it opens a tad slower but after it opens i have not felt any slow downs whatsoever
everything running smooth here
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Nov 2010, 05:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,289
Default

One of the reasons why Firefox opens slow according to me is that, on startup, it checks for updates for add-ons. That's why many times, if updates for add-ons are available, Firefox will give an alert while on startup. Another reason must be putting together the information from sqlite database.

Subsequent startups for Firefox are much faster. I do not have much problem with the first slow startup.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Nov 2010, 07:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Mine is short.

Bo

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
Mine's kind of long too



Come on guys, what are you...12?

Oh...you mean the list
mrpink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Nov 2010, 10:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Firefox 4 b7

adblock
add on compatibilty reporter
close n forget
f1 by mozilla labs
facetweak
fast dial
febe ghostery
gmail checker
imtranslator
linkification
multilinks
omnibar
organize status bar
personal title bar
saveimages
scrapbook
smoothwheel
status 4 evar
tab scope
tab counter
tineye reverse image search
toggle private browsing
wot
xmarks
youtube mp3

addons not working -
foxlingo
imagezoom
read it later
rotab
tabberwocky
update notifier
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Nov 2010, 10:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrpink View Post
J.L., Vivek and eyeb, i hope you guys have a broandband connection
otherwise with all these add-ons, i see you click on FF today and opens
tomorrow

And especially sandboxed
Don't worry, my Firefox is sandboxed within a super fast ramdisk
Got Broadband as well.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 02:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

I always use latest version, 3.6.12. I cant believe that only eyeb and myself
are using NoScript. To me surfing without it is like surfing naked or without
Sandboxie. Its the reason why I use Firefox.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 04:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
I always use latest version, 3.6.12. I cant believe that only eyeb and myself
are using NoScript. To me surfing without it is like surfing naked or without
Sandboxie. Its the reason why I use Firefox.

Bo
I've used NoScipt before, but gotten tired of managing my whitelist. With SandBoxie, I don't think it's necessary unless you want more privacy.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 05:04 AM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 885
Default

hm... takes 8-9 seconds from time I open FF till homepage is fully loaded inside sandbox
it might not be "quick" but opening chrome sandboxed (no extensions) takes 6-7 seconds... lol

I can wait 2 extra seconds for extensions I use/like lol.

edit: for comparison, IE8 took 4 seconds to fully load inside sandbox, but it went to a blank homepage. Still 4 seconds extra isn't a lot. Since I'm looking up/opening other files at same time anyways
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Nov 2010, 05:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
I've used NoScipt before, but gotten tired of managing my whitelist. With SandBoxie, I don't think it's necessary unless you want more privacy.
I know you right but NoScript blocks potential trouble that I prefer not to
be displayed unless I allow it. Less chances of anything getting thru. My
whitelist hardly ever changes and every page is blocked to the max and
allow them only temporarily whenever I want to. I don't even think of a
whitelist that needs to be manage. Once in a while I take a look at it
just to make sure the 10 websites that I allowed long time ago are still
the only ones there. Keep it simple and you might like NS.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.