Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Jul 2010, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default Epic Browser

Does anyone have any personal experience with the Epic Browser from India? The Epic Broswer has a very well know antivirus built right into the browser.

Thanks
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

It's supposed to be based on Mozilla. What that means in terms of Firefox version number would be interesting to know.

It may not be on par with the latest stable version, which can be a drawback for some folks.
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

I had a look at the browser. It seems to be geared specifically towards India, and users from India. Therefore, I don't think it will achieve global recognition, unless it incorporates some unique features. It has a unique feature of having an antivirus in it, and its NOD32. But, I personally don't like the idea of an antivirus in a browser. It would make the browser heavy, and also I think that main task of a browser is browsing, and the focus should be on making the browsing worthwhile.

I don't know how they managed to keep the browser free in spite of being associated with NOD32.

The site says its built on the latest release of Firefox.

I have downloaded the browser, and I intend to see what its about. I don't have high hopes about it though, lets see.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Well, so far I've managed to get some direct responses from Element, CometBird and ChromePlus so I've emailed this lot too. Element of course will argue that they were the first with built in malware protection but maybe Epic is more stable and more substantial. I shall endeavor to find out and if successful in making contact also invite the devs to mix it in here with the rest of us
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 06:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I have downloaded the browser, and I intend to see what its about. I don't have high hopes about it though, lets see.
Seems like I spoke too soon. I just installed the browser, and fired it up, and I must say since the start, I am mighty impressed with this. When the browser is started, it offers to import bookmarks, and other things from Firefox, which is a huge plus.

There is a side panel in the browser, which does not take up much space, and contains loads of useful stuff like My Computer explorer, Bookmarks, Facebook, Downloads, To Do, and other stuff. The browser comes installed with a default beautiful peacock persona. It took sometime to load up, but it looks wonderful. More skins and personas can be accessed from the side panel via Skins. You can also create a custom skin of yours. Its seemed geared towards users of India, from its website, but on running the browser it does not seem so, although some of the functions in the side panel are for users from India... but there are lots of other functions which everyone will find useful.

Beneath the core, the browser is Firefox, and I think all add-ons that I use with Firefox should work with the browser. The speed is as good as Firefox. This browsers seems to me as Firefox power packed, and enhanced. I think I will be using Epic more now. Lets see.

I just hope they keep the browser up to date with the latest release of Firefox. If I do get to use this browser as my main choice, I will be one proud user, as the software comes from India .

I urge everyone to try it, and see if you like it . I like it so far. I still haven't used it enough though, and still have to look around more... but I really like it in the first look.

Thanks a lot Taurus for bringing this browser to notice .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Thank you Anupam, but I found out about Epic over at Wilders. Please do keep us posted on your experiences with Epic. Sounds like it has a lot of potential.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 07:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

That's OK Taurus, you bought this news to TSA, so thanks goes to you .

I have yet to fine tune the browser, and look into details of the options and other things. I will do that as I find sometime.

I opened the TSA homepage with the browser, and I got horizontal scroll... a thing which I don't like. So, I will be looking for an option to turn the side panel off when required. There should be something for that, otherwise it will be more of a hassle, than usefulness. There is no Home button, a thing which I would like to see. So, I will be looking for these things. I would also try to find if the antivirus is realtime, or on-demand. Looks on-demand to me from what I read, but I haven't read enough. So far, I did not had any conflict because of the built-in antivirus, while installation or running of the browser.

I will be fine tuning the browser by installing add-ons, importing bookmarks etc. Should not be a problem since Firefox is at the core, as can be seen from Preferences. I will keep posted with my experience .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 09:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
...
I don't know how they managed to keep the browser free in spite of being associated with NOD32.
...
Over at Wilders (http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=277228), mark.eleven mentioned a 25MB download when he clicked on "Scan my system". I'd say it's ESET Online Scanner, which installed modules make up approx that size.

A shame it doesn't come as a portable browser - it's so much more convenient when trying out new apps and especially new browsers.

Did it create a seperate profile and where?
I hope it doesn't mess up with the one of Firefox - can't recall which, but there's one that does.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 09:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Thank you Anupam. From what I read, the browser antivirus automatically scans downloads and on demand if you want to scan your whole machine. I use MSE as my antivirus\malware and it automatically scans downloads, which could cause a confilict. But now that I think about it, I think you can deselect automatic scanning of downloads with MSE.

I hate horizontal scrolling, too. That's not a good start.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2010, 09:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Hi,

Over at Wilders (http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=277228), mark.eleven mentioned a 25MB download when he clicked on "Scan my system". I'd say it's ESET Online Scanner, which installed modules make up approx that size.
Well heck, I can do that with Firefox.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.