Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Mar 2011, 02:03 PM   #61 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

My thoughts are same as yours. Its good that the sidebar can now be hidden. I might try it sometime later, to see how that looks now.

I too had found Epic interesting because of all these features, but then again, as you say, it were a little too much for me too. Its based on Firefox, but I would never replace the original Firefox, because original is original after all.

If Epic was updated more regularly, maybe I would have kept it installed on my PC, but it is not being updated that much. You say that 1.2 is beta version. That's odd. Maybe the developers lost interest in the browser? I think it might have been good if they had developed this concept independently of any existing browser. The fact that it uses its base as a popular web browser works against it, IMO, because no one who uses Firefox would want to dump it for a clone, because Firefox in itself works really well. If Epic were developed as an independent browser, it might have gained more popularity because of the new features.

I too have tried different browsers, but still end up using Firefox. The only browser that has impressed me so far, is SRWare Iron. It is based on Chrome, but it is devoid of any extra stuff that comes with Chrome. I used it for a long time, before I started missing Firefox and went back to it. But, I have Iron as my secondary browser, and as a default on my PC, because it starts faster, and well, works good.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Mar 2011, 02:33 PM   #62 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
The only browser that has impressed me so far, is SRWare Iron. It is based on Chrome, but it is devoid of any extra stuff that comes with Chrome. I used it for a long time, before I started missing Firefox and went back to it. But, I have Iron as my secondary browser, and as a default on my PC, because it starts faster, and well, works good.
I recently adopted Iron as a second browser based on what i had read about it in these forums. I have FF installed and keep a portable version of Iron. The only thing i don't like about Iron is the lack of control over running scripts: it's either on or off. I know there is an addon for this but i've had a look at it and it requires fiddling about with to work properly, so back once more to Firefox
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Mar 2011, 02:40 PM   #63 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Yes, a NoScript like extension is missing from non-Firefox browsers. But, then, I don't use NoScipt nowadays, and don't miss it either.

Iron used to crash randomly earlier, and also behaved weirdly sometimes, but it has now stabilized. You can also try ChromePlus. I had it installed for a while, but didn't do much with it, because it did not seem any different from Iron. But, if you are not happy with Iron in some way, you can give ChromePlus a try.

Getting back on topic, it would be interesting to see if it gets updated when Firefox 4 is released.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Mar 2011, 02:51 PM   #64 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post

Getting back on topic, it would be interesting to see if it gets updated when Firefox 4 is released.
I suppose that would depend on how well resourced they are at Epic. I would guess probably not as well resourced as they would like to be or would need to be to keep their browser development program running parallel to the FF browser it's based on, especially since the current beta release (which is the general download on their site and not an alternate) is based on FF3.6.10 and not FF3.6.15. It's possible though that they have abandoned incremental updates for Epic based on FF3 and are dedicating themselves to working on an FF4 version of Epic Browser.....is that likely do you think?
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Mar 2011, 03:30 PM   #65 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Really cannot be sure. You might be right. But still, if they want to gain some users, then I think security should be a priority. Providing a beta based on 3.6.10 is really lagging far behind, when Firefox is on 3.6.15. A version or two behind is understandable, but not this.

They might be working on matching it up with Firefox 4, but I am not sure about that. To me, it seems like they are not working on the browser. Maybe, not getting a good response?

Well, I know of one Indian company, which abandoned their software after a discussion here with us. It was a File Cleaner, and after having tried their product, found out it was not safe. They made some changes, based on the feedback they got from here, but we did not try the product after the first try. To my surprise, there has not been any development since then.

A lack of good response can put off new companies very soon. Lets hope that's not the case with Epic.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Mar 2011, 04:07 PM   #66 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Despite Alt-Home being available, the lack of a home button in this browser is niggling at me.....why would they do that? Also on closer inspection it lacks consistency in its visual aspects. The minimise/restore/close buttons look like windows 95 while the navigation buttons are modern looking, with the addition of a bright orange private browsing button. Adding a different theme actually makes it look worse because while everything else changes, the buttons remain the same.
Maybe that's part of the problem....it's a fun browser, but no matter what i do with it it's not a good looking browser. Final verdict: a good idea badly executed, but i still like the integration of some of its features.
epic.jpg
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Mar 2011, 04:32 PM   #67 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Yep, my thoughts exactly. I had mentioned about the absence of Home button when I had first tested Epic. I too disliked its absence, because its a button I use often. I even could not find it in the options. They should have atleast given it in options to turn it on. SRWare Iron too by default does not have the home button, but it can turned on via options. I think they did away with it, because they included two extra buttons in place of it.... one for private mode, and another for clearing the recent history etc.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Mar 2011, 05:37 AM   #68 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Default Home button is available in Epic Browser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Yep, my thoughts exactly. I had mentioned about the absence of Home button when I had first tested Epic. I too disliked its absence, because its a button I use often. I even could not find it in the options. They should have atleast given it in options to turn it on. SRWare Iron too by default does not have the home button, but it can turned on via options. I think they did away with it, because they included two extra buttons in place of it.... one for private mode, and another for clearing the recent history etc.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Epic has Home Button enabled from View>Home Button>Show Home Button.

To see its response see below page of facebook.
http://www.facebook.com/epicbrowser
Exshail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Mar 2011, 05:46 AM   #69 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Thanks for the tip.

I can see from the Facebook page, that they are working on Epic, to update it based on Firefox 4. Will be interesting to see what they come up with. Meanwhile, I am enjoying Firefox 4.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Feb 2012, 06:08 PM   #70 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Thanks for the tip.

I can see from the Facebook page, that they are working on Epic, to update it based on Firefox 4. Will be interesting to see what they come up with. Meanwhile, I am enjoying Firefox 4.
Just try new version 1.9
Exshail is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.