Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16. Jul 2010, 05:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

From what I've read, it doesn't provide me with any must-have functions that I don't have right now, so I'm going to wait on it.
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 07:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

Some not so positive views here:
http://broadbandforum.in/software-di...web-browser/2/
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 10:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

As yet I've had no response from the developers, but allowing for time zones, this might not happen until next week (if at all ).

Says downloads through Epic are scanned for malware but maybe this doesn't apply if these are redirected to a third party app via a plugin.

I agree with the post linked to about the interface. I know these things are very much personal choice but my opinion of this one is "dire" Presumably it's skinable though so all is not lost

I haven't even loaded this yet as I know Anupam is delving into it's deeper regions, but unless it is highly configurable my overall impression is that it's a bit too complicated and cluttered for a Firefox clone when so many other good alternatives like CometBird and Pale Moon already exist. Yes the AV scan option is useful but then most regular AV's can be set to do this automatically (or do by default) anyway.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 01:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

I've now had a reply from Alok, the CEO and founder of Epic who has kindly agreed to respond to our queries. I've pointed him towards this thread to address the issues and concerns raised here first. Maybe Alok will wish to register and take part in the discussion himself, if not I'll happily post his email responses here.

Please hold off with any further questions until after we see Alok's first response otherwise we could end up dealing with multiple issues at the same time and some of the content might become lost.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 02:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Thanks MC. It would be good to get answers straight from the software company.

Meanwhile, here are my further observations about the browser.

I found two "about" sections. One is About Mozilla, and another is About Epic. That's really helpful. About Mozilla shows as Version 3.6.6. So, the browser is indeed built on the latest release of Firefox, and that is a good thing. I only hope that in future, they will keep up with the releases of Firefox, specially, when a security vulnerability is fixed.

Firefox 4.0 may be releasing soon. Its already in beta. So, I have one more thing in mind, whether Epic will also be upgrading itself in terms of Firefox 4.0 at its core, and if Epic will be changing itself look-wise, since now we all know that Firefox 4.0 has undergone a major change look-wise.

I looked for an option to hide the side panel, but I could not find anything. The side panel contains many useful apps, but I would really like to see it auto-hiding, or having an option to close it, and open it, on demand. Because, otherwise, the side panel is taking up an important part of the browsing area. To add to that, its causing the webpages to have horizontal scroll... a thing which most of the people dislike, including me. I would like my browsing area to be uncluttered, and clean. So, I just hope that this thing about the side panel is changed. Its very useful, yes, but presently, its getting in way. Epic Browser is still at very early stages... version 1.0, so I hope this is attended to, in the future versions.

When I clicked on Import, it shows that the browser will import bookmarks, passwords, History etc, from Firefox. But when I chose to import, only the bookmarks were available for import. It would have been really good, if passwords, and other things were able to import too. Since, the browser is based on Firefox, it would be really good if extensions were also able to import into the browser. That would be just wonderful. I don't know if that's possible. But, about passwords, and other things, I would like these to be imported into the browser in future versions.

When an extension is installed, the browser demands a restart, like Firefox does. But, the good thing about Epic is that, when an extension is installed, a side box opens up, which shows the add-ons manager. It shows the installed extension, and also the Restart button, which makes it really easy to restart, and manage the extensions. So, this feature is good.

I was able to install all extensions successfully, except KeyScrambler. The extension got installed, but when the browser was restarted, I got an error related to javascript probably. I had to uninstall KeyScrambler. The rest of the extensions work without any problem. WOT is working great! FEBE, FlashGot, DownThemAll, AdBlockPlus, Xmarks.. all are working without any problem.

All the plug-ins which are present in Firefox, were present for Epic Browser too. I hope its not sharing the Firefox profile, because of which these were enabled, but because it auto-detected them. I still have to confirm whether Epic shares profiles with Firefox. I hope it does not.

I could not find any option to show the Home button, and its a thing which I am accustomed to. Instead of the Home button, there are two useful buttons though. There is a button to start private browsing, and another to clear private data. These buttons are useful, and its good to place them there, I think. Although, the private browsing button could have been avoided, in my opinion. Atleast, I don't use it that much.

One thing which is not present in Firefox, but is there in Epic, that when you click the Clear Private Data button, among other options, there is an option to delete Flash LSO. That is a really welcome, and a useful option in my opinion.

There are many skins available from within the browser, in different categories, like Regional, People, Culture, Flowers, Birds etc. There are a lot of options to choose from, which I found really good. Apart from setting up the skin, you can choose to set up as browser wallpaper too, which some people might like.

I haven't run the antivirus yet, so I can't say anything about it. I am also waiting for Alok to tell more about it. I intend to read more, when I find time.

Overall, I think this browser has potential. Of all the Firefox based browsers, I really like this one. It has introduced some unique features in the browser while maintaining Firefox at its core. The browser should get better with later versions. I really hope they give an option to hide the side panel. It has got some tremendously useful apps, which may appeal to a lot of people. It has even got a word writer, which is somehow connected to Google I think, because when I opened it, in the status bar, it shows as connecting to Google. Anyways, the side panel is useful, only if they provide an option to hide it.

Good work from the developers, in my opinion. And oh, from the link to Wilders which 26Dolphins shared, the people at Wilders have taken this browser nicely too.
__________________
Anupam

Last edited by Anupam; 16. Jul 2010 at 06:57 PM. Reason: Correction for credit of Wilders link to 26Dolphins. Sorry.
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 06:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Anupam, thanks for the great report on Epic. But let's give credit where credit is due. I did not provide the link to the Wilders thread. 26Dolphins did.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 06:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
Anupam, thanks for the great report on Epic. But let's give credit where credit is due. I did not provide the link to the Wilders thread. 26Dolphins did.
Really sorry. I apologize to 26Dolphins for this mistake of mine. I should have checked twice before posting . I am really sorry about this. I will make a correction in my post.

In response to 26Dolphin's question about a different profile. Yes, Epic does create a different profile, and does not interfere in any way with profile of Firefox. The profile is created in the Application Data folder, for Epic.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 08:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,
First off, regarding this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Really sorry. I apologize to 26Dolphins for this mistake of mine. I should have checked twice before posting . I am really sorry about this. I will make a correction in my post.
...
you don't have to apologize, it's no big deal; when I first read your post, I didn't even noticed that you credited Taurus for the Wilders link I provided.

Anyway, you did a thorough job here. Thanks for clarifying the profile aspect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
...
I was able to install all extensions successfully, except KeyScrambler. The extension got installed, but when the browser was restarted, I got an error related to javascript probably. I had to uninstall KeyScrambler. ...
KeyScrambler free only supports IE, Flock and Firefox and none of the other browsers that use the Gecko engine (http://www.qfxsoftware.com/ks-window...yscrambler.htm). Maybe there's a plan to include them in the paid versions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
...
One thing which is not present in Firefox, but is there in Epic, that when you click the Clear Private Data button, among other options, there is an option to delete Flash LSO. That is a really welcome, and a useful option in my opinion.
...
That IS a great feature, saves you one extension. Did you check that it really does the job? Is it configurable?

I'd still like to see a portable version.

Cheers
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jul 2010, 09:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

The browser is great in terms of looks and performance and feautures
i like d side panel too

i havent tested it as thoroughly as anupam but i found 1 problem till now
the bookmark toolbar is not enabled by default
and when i enable it via the view optiona nd close d browser and open again..its gone ..i ahve to again make it appear via the view option
ne 1 else experiencing same problem ?
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 09:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Thanks 26Dolphins, for your kindness and understanding . It might not be a big deal, but as Taurus said, credit should be given where its due.

Thanks for the link for KeyScrambler. You are right, the free version supports only three browsers IE, Firefox, and Flock. The paid version supports a lot of browsers. The support might be added for Epic on their request, but it might be for paid version.

About the Flash LSO deletion, I haven't checked if it really works, because I don't know in which folder these LSO files get stored. But, it might be working. Its not configurable though.

Av_Crazy, you are right. I enabled the bookmark toolbar, from the View option, but when I restarted the browser, the toolbar was gone. Its a bug I think. But, you don't need to access bookmarks that way, because bookmarks can be accessed from the side panel too quite easily. But yes, it would take space, if you want to keep it open.

Another thing which I liked about Epic Browser, which is not in Firefox, is that the star button to bookmark a site, is there on the tab itself instead of the address bar. This, in my opinion, is a good feature.

Another feature is that the domain name gets in bold, on opening a site. This feature is good in terms of anti-phishing security.

So, some features are really unique, good, and well thought of.

I think the future releases should see a portable version being introduced.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.