Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Jun 2010, 08:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

I just uninstalled the x version of the flash player for IE8 with Revo uninstaller. I then went to the flash player test site in IE8 and the site told me that no x flash player was installed. I wish Winpatrol would watch\block plugins for Firefox. I must have 8 plugins installed for Firefox that I didn't know about until I just looked. I'm not liking that stealth move AT all.

I just disabled 4 Microsoft DRM plugins for Netscape in Firefox. We'll see what happens.

Last edited by Taurus; 12. Jun 2010 at 08:13 PM.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jun 2010, 10:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

@Anupam, I got rid of the updater by going to Addons/Extensions in
Firefox and uninstalled it. I experienced exactly what George described.
I also found by using HJT that this update also installed on a 016 line
a DPF.I can not be sure the update installed it but I think it did. The
HJT shows the DPF as:

platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab

I got rid of that using HJT. This kind of thing bothers me
a lot and its the reason that I also got rid of Java on both
of my browsers.
Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Jun 2010, 06:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

That's true Taurus, many plugins get installed silently on Firefox, and we do not know about it. Still, from time to time, I keep looking at what plugins are installed. You can also perform the plugin-check from within Firefox, to see which plugin is insecure. That's a useful feature. Mozilla have made this available for other browsers too, via a plugin check page. That's commendable.

Bo, I see no such entry in my HJT. Maybe the entry was installed when you installed flash player via the online installer plugin.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Jun 2010, 05:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Thanks for the tips on Firefox plugins Anupam. I will keep an on them from now on.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Jun 2010, 08:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Welcome Taurus .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Jun 2010, 10:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mostly planet Earth
Posts: 323
Default

Anupam can you please tell me what all this stuff is? Do i need any of this?
http://img808.imageshack.us/img808/9098/plugins.jpg
HeWhoRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jun 2010, 12:56 AM   #17 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grf View Post
Anupam can you please tell me what all this stuff is? Do i need any of this?
http://img808.imageshack.us/img808/9098/plugins.jpg
I think it was mentioned here: http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...html#post27396
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jun 2010, 01:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mostly planet Earth
Posts: 323
Default

Thanks J.L.
I was just reading about the Java thing elsewhere so i know what the deal is with that now. As for the other stuff, i disabled most of it to see what would happen and maybe it's just my imagination, but my FF seems to be quicker than it was.
HeWhoRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jun 2010, 02:46 AM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

grf the getPlusPlus for Adobe is what I got rid of by using HJT.
I think it got installed with this Flash update. I remember reading
a few months ago that the Java deployment toolkit was very
dangerous so I disabled it and afterward I decided to get rid of
Java altogether. I have never installed anything with the Google
pack but I think that's what the Google update is. If that's the
case then you can uninstall it from add/remove programs. I would
do it. Your Java is old and I personally decided to get rid of it a
while back but if you want to use it then update it to the latest
version. I also use Foxit but never installed the plugin for the PDF
to be open on the browser. I might be wrong but I think is safer
to open it as a PDF file instead of in the browser. Your shockwave
is outdated also. I personally got rid of that thing for good but if
you are going to keep it then update it.
Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jun 2010, 02:58 AM   #20 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

I would've gotten rid of Java too, but some programs rely on that because they're made with the Java programming lanuguage. Also many of the more useful online tools require java, which is very powerful indeed. Sophisticated online games can also be made with java.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.