Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29. Jun 2010, 11:04 AM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
...
and one more thing: Please ensure that you've checked the box under "options=> Security" which says "Warn me when sites try to install add ons" (if you've not already done so) and then click on the "exceptions" tab and remove all of the exceptions so that addons from any site cannot be installed without your permission...
Any idea whether these "exceptions" come preloaded courtesy Firefox as some sort of quid quo pro? Because I had come across the MS DRM plugin on my PC and I know for sure I never asked for it.
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 12:27 PM   #32 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,322
Default

Thanks Concerned_User for the link. And you are right about the things to be careful of while installing Flash Player.

J.L. is very right though. If you install flash player via the standalone installer, you won't come across any such problems of other software being installed along with Flash Player.

With the latest version of flash player, I have sometimes observed heavy CPU usage, when I am doing something which involved flash player... like playing games on Facebook. CPU usage shoots up to 100%, and everything just stalls. I then have to somehow close the flash application, clear all my temporary files, browser history etc, from within the browser, with CCleaner. After that, the flash application works normally without problem. But, it occurs randomly. I have observed this behavior with Firefox, Dragon, SRWare Iron. These are the three browsers on my system presently.

I have had few crashes while using flash applications too. Prior to Firefox 3.6.4, the whole browser used to crash... but since OOP came with Firefox 3.6.4, the crash has just been limited to flash player, and not the browser. So, this move of Firefox is working well.

I just wish there was an option to uninstall, or delete a plugin... like the extensions can be uninstalled.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 06:55 PM   #33 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Thanks Concerned_User for the link. And you are right about the things to be careful of while installing Flash Player.

J.L. is very right though. If you install flash player via the standalone installer, you won't come across any such problems of other software being installed along with Flash Player.

With the latest version of flash player, I have sometimes observed heavy CPU usage, when I am doing something which involved flash player... like playing games on Facebook. CPU usage shoots up to 100%, and everything just stalls. I then have to somehow close the flash application, clear all my temporary files, browser history etc, from within the browser, with CCleaner. After that, the flash application works normally without problem. But, it occurs randomly. I have observed this behavior with Firefox, Dragon, SRWare Iron. These are the three browsers on my system presently.

I have had few crashes while using flash applications too. Prior to Firefox 3.6.4, the whole browser used to crash... but since OOP came with Firefox 3.6.4, the crash has just been limited to flash player, and not the browser. So, this move of Firefox is working well.

I just wish there was an option to uninstall, or delete a plugin... like the extensions can be uninstalled.
You can uninstall Flash using Add/Remove Program.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 07:12 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
You can uninstall Flash using Add/Remove Program.
Of course I know that . I was talking about other plug-ins... like Windows Presentation Foundation, Yahoo Application State Plugin, Microsoft DRM. These plugins can only be disabled from within Firefox, but cannot be removed, or deleted, unless we delete the program with which these plugins came. There should be a way to uninstall them, or delete them if we do not want them.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 08:03 PM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasa1 View Post
Any idea whether these "exceptions" come preloaded courtesy Firefox as some sort of quid quo pro? Because I had come across the MS DRM plugin on my PC and I know for sure I never asked for it.
Yup! and if you install the .net framework stuff or a download manager or something like that, you'll get an unnecessary addon in the Firefox addon manager which will install without your permission ....Yes you can remove it, but why oh why do they install it in the first place without the permission of the end user? Regarding the "exceptions", I think that "addons.mozilla.org" and "google.com" are there automatically?

I'm not sure since I remove even the so-called "trusted" sites a long time ago! I am the user and I make the decision to accept/reject the addons. This will also give an extra layer of security since malicious sites can force Firefox can install malware addons.


Quote:
These plugins can only be disabled from within Firefox, but cannot be removed, or deleted, unless we delete the program with which these plugins came. There should be a way to uninstall them, or delete them if we do not want them.
Anupam: They can be removed (eventually) by using google search about the problem through various forums and threads ...But you're right! they're a bit of pain to remove.

Last edited by Concerned User; 29. Jun 2010 at 08:13 PM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 08:27 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,322
Default

I too think the same that plugins should not be installed in the browser without the permission of the user. Plus, these plugins are sneaky... you won't know about them unless you check the plugins manager.

For me, exceptions are personas page, and add-ons page of Mozilla.

Yes Concerned, I know that I can search on Google for a way to remove plugins... but as you say, that is a pain... and one has to go through a number of steps. An uninstall like the extensions would be good.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 08:36 PM   #37 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 178
Default

And my sincerest thanks to you posters, especially bo.elam and J.L.! What made me suspicious of the update hiccup was that the Firefox update went reasonably well, but then the Firefox program tried to stop Adobe from asking to install the DLM (I think that was the name)- so I don't know if it's more Firefox's fault or Adobe's. This is the first time in years of using Firefox that I've ever been irked by the program. I may even try another browser. Who knows? I may even give IE8 a try (shudder! ).

Thanks again, Kyuzo.
Kyuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 09:32 PM   #38 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyuzo View Post
And my sincerest thanks to you posters, especially bo.elam and J.L.! What made me suspicious of the update hiccup was that the Firefox update went reasonably well, but then the Firefox program tried to stop Adobe from asking to install the DLM (I think that was the name)- so I don't know if it's more Firefox's fault or Adobe's. This is the first time in years of using Firefox that I've ever been irked by the program. I may even try another browser. Who knows? I may even give IE8 a try (shudder! ).

Thanks again, Kyuzo.
The DLM is definitely Adobe's fault (they've recently added it in the normal install process), Firefox was doing its job.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jun 2010, 02:28 AM   #39 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Concerned user, thanks for the Flash link and the info about removing the
exceptions so that addons cannot be installed without our permission. I had
3 things in there.
Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jun 2010, 02:38 AM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Of course I know that . I was talking about other plug-ins... like Windows Presentation Foundation, Yahoo Application State Plugin, Microsoft DRM. These plugins can only be disabled from within Firefox, but cannot be removed, or deleted, unless we delete the program with which these plugins came. There should be a way to uninstall them, or delete them if we do not want them.
Sometimes even if you uninstall a program, the plugin remains. I am
specifically talking about Java deployment toolkit. I uninstalled Java
and previously had disabled the deployment toolkit but it remained
after Java was uninstalled.
Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.