Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Jun 2010, 09:19 AM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Clean update! Everything's working fine

1. Unfortunately, the start up time has increased again! I think it's because of the plugin container.exe stuff which run later when you click on flash content. I'm not sure...I've added no new plugins in the last one month or so....

Right now, Mozilla's top priority would be to improve the start up time. They can worry about tabs on top or other stuff later on!

I don't know...I also think that Firefox is not customized for Windows. That could be the reason for the delay in start up time. I tried out K-meleon and the start up is much faster.

Here's a quote for Wikipedia for the k-meleon browser:

Quote:
K-Meleon is a web browser for the Microsoft Windows platform. Based on the same Gecko layout engine as Mozilla Firefox, K-Meleon uses native Windows API to create the user interface (instead of using Mozilla's cross-platform XUL layer), and as a result, is tightly integrated into the look and feel of the Windows desktop;[1] this approach is similar to that of Galeon and Epiphany (for the GNOME desktop), and Camino (for Mac OS X).
I also remember reading a comment from an article in "The Register" saying the same thing i.e. Firefox is not integrated into Windows so the start up time is a bit slow. Of course, IE is so tightly integrated that it starts up within 3 seconds!

Of course, you do have Firefox's derivatives like Palemon, unofficial builds etc. which have been customized for Windows. Somehow they don't feel like Firefox. Not much of a big deal, just saying!
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jun 2010, 10:17 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,276
Default

Startup time for Firefox has always been more than other browsers, so there is nothing new with it. Just the first startup is more, the later startup times are much lower. But, I can live with that... because Firefox works well for me.

Yes, there is difference in Firefox and K-Meleon. You can read about K-Meleon in detail here, which was written by a person who develops extensions for K-Meleon :

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...d-history.html

Here are some tests done on different browsers, including K-Meleon :

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...w-browser.html

And here is my experience with K-Meleon :

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...b-browser.html

If you want to discuss on K-Meleon further, please start a new topic.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jun 2010, 02:41 PM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concerned User View Post
...
1. Unfortunately, the start up time has increased again! I think it's because of the plugin container.exe stuff which run later when you click on flash content. I'm not sure...I've added no new plugins in the last one month or so....
...
You could try out Firefox Preloader:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ffpreloader/

It's quite old, so I don't know if it'll work on any Windows later than Win XP.

26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jun 2010, 03:55 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,

Just updated to 3.6.6 and regarding the plugin situation:
1. It doesn't change your settings.
2. It removes any others you might have added manually (e.g. Java).

So far so good,
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 02:42 AM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 178
Default

My Firefox update has been prompting me to install a new Adobe Flash. The problem is that this Flash update seems to come with something called "getPlusPlus". From what I gather, this is a marketing aid of some sort. Have any of you had bad experiences with this? I've decided to keep my "vulnerable" version of Flash until I determine whether this is a wolf in sheep's clothing.

Regards!
Kyuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 03:37 AM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyuzo View Post
My Firefox update has been prompting me to install a new Adobe Flash. The problem is that this Flash update seems to come with something called "getPlusPlus". From what I gather, this is a marketing aid of some sort. Have any of you had bad experiences with this? I've decided to keep my "vulnerable" version of Flash until I determine whether this is a wolf in sheep's clothing.

Regards!
Kyuzo when I updated Flash last time I ended up with that thing on
my computer and got rid of it using HJT but you can also uninstall it
from"Add or remove programs". It s better to update flash and get
rid of the thing later than to keep the vulnerable old version, so do
the update as soon as possible. Just my opinion my friend.
Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 03:44 AM   #27 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyuzo View Post
My Firefox update has been prompting me to install a new Adobe Flash. The problem is that this Flash update seems to come with something called "getPlusPlus". From what I gather, this is a marketing aid of some sort. Have any of you had bad experiences with this? I've decided to keep my "vulnerable" version of Flash until I determine whether this is a wolf in sheep's clothing.

Regards!
Download Flash from here: http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer/
The standalone installers only contain adobe flash, nothing else.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 03:45 AM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

I might be wrong but I feel that my FF is consuming less memory on this
new version. Last night I was on Youtube for a couple of hours and the
memory on the container was at 30 MB at its highest and FF had about
100 MB. In the past probably that would have been about 200 to 250MB,
so this thing might be good for my computer.
Cold starts are probably a little worst but afterward is good.
Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 04:08 AM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Startup time for Firefox has always been more than other browsers, so there is nothing new with it. Just the first startup is more, the later startup times are much lower. But, I can live with that... because Firefox works well for me.

Yes, there is difference in Firefox and K-Meleon. You can read about K-Meleon in detail here, which was written by a person who develops extensions for K-Meleon :

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...d-history.html

...
Very informative posts there for anyone interested in a little history of browsers (and a certain very popular extension).
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jun 2010, 08:05 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Thanks Anupam!

@bo.elam: Yes, cold starts are the worst for Firefox.

Regarding the flash plugin, it is a bit of a pain since:

1. Adobe tries to stuff their updater thingy (Adobe DLM) as a Firefox addon. Not a good idea
2. Otherwise, they even try to stuff McAfee (Oh God!) as a free AV Scanner. No thank you.

Here is the direct link for you guys who are interested:

http://www.adobe.com/products/flashp...ort/index.html

(scroll to the bottom of the page for both the links)

Not a best practice at all, Adobe for hiding useful links!

and one more thing: Please ensure that you've checked the box under "options=> Security" which says "Warn me when sites try to install add ons" (if you've not already done so) and then click on the "exceptions" tab and remove all of the exceptions so that addons from any site cannot be installed without your permission.

Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.