Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06. May 2010, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chrome and encryption

Hi,
I was wondering if anybody could help me on this. I have been using Chrome for only one month and I really like it. I was sent a registration form from a financial institution so I can access an encrypted file. I am having problems (no error code, it just keeps failing). Would Chrome be preventing me from receiving an encrypted file? A setting I should address maybe?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2010, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,298
Default

Have you tried with another browser? I know that some commercial links require IE to function.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2010, 07:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Have you tried with another browser? I know that some commercial links require IE to function.
Thank you for helping me out MC. You were right about this one.
I had to dig deep to find IE on my XP system and get it setup as the default browser. Once I opened the secure site all went well & I had no problems accessing the encrypted PDF.

I did not know that a site could force me to use a specific browser.

Just as an aside, I contacted the financial institution & told them that my browser of choice is Chrome & that their information screen should state that IE is required. They said that they had never heard of Chrome! I guess their world is a little smaller than ours.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07. May 2010, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

You don't have to set it up as your default browser. You can simply use Chrome as your default browser and IE as a secondary browser for compatibility.
Or better yet, take a look at the IE Tab extension.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. May 2010, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
You don't have to set it up as your default browser. You can simply use Chrome as your default browser and IE as a secondary browser for compatibility.
Or better yet, take a look at the IE Tab extension.
Tnx JL. This is a good thing to know. I went through all the steps of setting up IE as my default browser on my XP system before reading this. If only you had come along earlier! I have since gone back and reset everything to the way it was (pain pain pain). I downloaded the extension that you recommended onto my Win7 laptop, so the next time I get into this situation I will use the IE tab.
Tnx again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08. May 2010, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emmjay View Post
...
I did not know that a site could force me to use a specific browser.

...
It is very, very common in the financial world.
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.