Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22. Mar 2010, 07:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
...
About Pale Moon, I am disappointed with what you and MC told. If they were developing a different browser than Firefox, they should have kept things different. The mix up is just not good. Why would anyone want to see Pale Moon starting when they want to start Firefox. That is a glitch they should remove.
Well, I read it in a hurry and in any case don't really understand these things in depth but the impression I got is that Pale Moon is FF all the way but with several things chopped off. Another difference is that the "engine" is more Windows-specific than generic.

Even Sandboxie doesn't see it as distinct from FF!
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 07:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

You are correct. Pale Moon is in fact Firefox with some parts of it removed. It uses the Firefox source code, and yes, is optimized for Windows. But, still, they should keep the browser independent of Firefox. It uses your Firefox profile, and that is why I think Sandboxie sees it as Firefox.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 07:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I came across two ad blocking extensions for Google Chrome in the extension list. One is AdBlock, and the other is AdThwart. I installed AdBlock on Iron, and it installed successfully. Now, I don't know about the internals of these extensions, so you will have to research yourself about them.
Those adblock extensions as of now only hide ads, not block them. So no speed-up in browsing or saving of bandwidth for those on monthly limits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
About Pale Moon, I am disappointed with what you and MC told. If they were developing a different browser than Firefox, they should have kept things different. The mix up is just not good. Why would anyone want to see Pale Moon starting when they want to start Firefox. That is a glitch they should remove.
Their aim is not to develop a different browser than Firefox. They feel that to satisfy all possible users,even those with older processors, the compiling process of Firefox is not done optimally. Their first aim is only to compile with some some extra switches so that features of SSE2 are used. Older processors don't have SSE2 thats why they maintain a list of supported processors. Also they remove a few features not to have a different experience for its users but to have a faster Firefox for the majority users who don't use the removed features.
There are other custom builds out there too. See
http://www.ghacks.net/2009/05/09/firefox-custom-builds/
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 07:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Thanks for the explanation sa1. Things get more clear now. Yes, their aim is to optimize Firefox.

About the ad block extensions for Chrome, both AdBlock and AdThwart do not stop the download of ads, or just AdBlock? What about FlashBlock for Chrome, does it behave in the same way?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 08:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Thanks for the explanation sa1. Things get more clear now. Yes, their aim is to optimize Firefox.

About the ad block extensions for Chrome, both AdBlock and AdThwart do not stop the download of ads, or just AdBlock? What about FlashBlock for Chrome, does it behave in the same way?
Afaik no adblocker extension on Chrome blocks ads. They only use CSS to hide the ads. Chrome's extension API is not that powerful yet to allow extensions to block content. There have been some changes in Chrome 5's behaviour (e.g you can now block Javascript) and there is hope that such capability is going to be added soon. When I switched to Chrome from Opera for a few days, I found Chrome much slower and investigated the cause for it and diagnosed it to this issue. (the adservers are always the slowest of them all.)
I'm not sure about Flashblock but it should work similarly. SRware Iron on the other hand carries a real adblocker (it has a adblock.ini file which you can use.)
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 08:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Thanks for the information sa1. I have been a Firefox user for many years, but I do occasionally use other browsers too. At the moment I have K-Meleon, Opera, Iron, other than Firefox on my PC. Just downloaded Opera 10.51 today. Opera has made changes in its interface, and now looks like Chrome. It looks nice though.

How can we make use of the adblock.ini file of Iron? Any extension which can make use of it? If you can, please explain about it. You can start a new thread for it. Would be good.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 08:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
How can we make use of the adblock.ini file of Iron? Any extension which can make use of it? If you can, please explain about it. You can start a new thread for it. Would be good.
Done. http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...ware-iron.html
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 08:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

I have no desire/intent to hijack this thread, but I just found out that Chrome will support Roboform (or vice-versa). So, I might have to give Chrome a try. (Though, I've been a dedicated FF user for many years.....)
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 08:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Thanks sa1 .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 09:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
I have no desire/intent to hijack this thread, but I just found out that Chrome will support Roboform (or vice-versa). So, I might have to give Chrome a try. (Though, I've been a dedicated FF user for many years.....)
Yes, kendall... I noticed Roboform while going through the extension list for Chrome. I was thinking of telling you this, because I know that is the most important extension that you will look for, when changing browsers . Glad you found out by yourself.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.