Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19. Mar 2010, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Question Opera New Tab

In firefox ..when i right click on a new link and open it in a new tab..it opens ina new tab but it doesnt open d new tab...i have to click from tab bar to open the new tab...this the way i prefer...

but in opera when i do dis it automatically opens d new tab...how do i stop it from directing to new tab..
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Mar 2010, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av_Crazy View Post
In firefox ..when i right click on a new link and open it in a new tab..it opens ina new tab but it doesnt open d new tab...i have to click from tab bar to open the new tab...this the way i prefer...

but in opera when i do dis it automatically opens d new tab...how do i stop it from directing to new tab..
Right click on a link..and click On "Open In Background Tab".
Or middle click on the link.
Or right click on link and drag down then up.(you can change this shortcut if you want. First time there will be message that whether you want to enable mouse gestures or not. Click yes).
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Mar 2010, 05:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sa1 View Post
Right click on a link..and click On "Open In Background Tab".
Or middle click on the link.
Or right click on link and drag down then up.(you can change this shortcut if you want. First time there will be message that whether you want to enable mouse gestures or not. Click yes).
Thanx sa1 ... both the middle mouse button and mouse gesture worked..thanx
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Mar 2010, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av_Crazy View Post
Thanx sa1 ... both the middle mouse button and mouse gesture worked..thanx
Nice to know it worked. (Though there was not a doubt on my mind. that it would)

Last edited by sa1; 19. Mar 2010 at 06:57 PM.
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2010, 01:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 2
Default Set the rule in about:config

Hi, do open a new tab in background for a link on the page, open a new tab and write "about:config" there. Page will show a warning message, say OK.
And then type "background" in the space at the top of the page, double click these tow entries below to make them appear "true" and bold.
  • browser.tabs.loadBookmarksInBackground
  • browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground

Regards,
Jwalant Natvarlal Soneji (BE IT) India
jwalantsoneji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2010, 05:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

I cannot find these options in Opera 10.5?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2010, 06:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall View Post
I cannot find these options in Opera 10.5?

I think he meant this:

about:config has to be typed in the address box where we normally enter web addresses. Then hit enter and okay the caution. Then search and modify what you want.
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2010, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Surely it's opera:config

Still can't find those options mentioned though.

In any case, middle-click (mouse wheel) is adequate for this purpose IMO.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2010, 06:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

I think Jwalant had posted for Firefox? Because I had a doubt if about:config is present for Opera or not. I might be wrong though, because I am not an Opera user, and presently I don't have Opera installed on my system... I am waiting for the version with the bug fixes.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Mar 2010, 07:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

about:config works in opera too
though opera shows d adjustment option more clearly den mozilla
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.