Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20. Jul 2010, 05:01 PM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

I installed Norton SafeWeb to Luna over the weekend as well, got the same result as you MC, blank toolbar, it didn't work. Also when I uninstalled it my tool and menu bars got messed up a bit and it took a while to get Luna back to looking how I had it. Ok, so now I've installed Finjan and it's working but at first I was getting some kind of double rating ... two icons by the side of each search result, not like the image you've posted where there is only one green tick, I was getting two. Now it's working fine .. or seems to be so I'll try it this evening and see how it goes.

@ Anupam .. the Finjan rating icons spin for a while before the ratings load, but as far as browsing speed, so far, I can't see much difference but time will tell.

Not wanting to change the subject away from Luna, but I'm wondering about some of these site ratings since I've been taking more notice this last week or so, in terms of accuracy. Maybe another thread, though.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Jul 2010, 08:32 PM   #32 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I had tried Finjan long back for sometime. I gave up on it though. The web site says it gives the ratings on the base of realtime code analysis of the webpage. MC, does it slows the browsing? How long does it take to show the ratings, for example, on a Google search page?
Yes it does slow browsing which won't suit a lot of folks and of course the extent to which this happens depends on your connection. I'm still having to use wireless at the moment which fluctuates greatly so I'm not best placed to judge the speed differential. The thing that appeals to me is that the ratings are supposedly based on a realtime scan of the page code as it is presented and not on what crawler bots might have found there when they last checked it
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Jul 2010, 08:49 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Thanks deya and MC.

As Finjan scans the webpage realtime, therefore I think its bound to slow down the browsing a bit. To think about it, it should be more effective than WOT, because WOT is based on user reports, whereas Finjan is based on real time code analysis. I don't know why I had uninstalled Finjan earlier, maybe because of slow browsing. I can't remember. I may give it a try again.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jul 2010, 02:06 PM   #34 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Latest version of Luna, 6.2, is availabe to install. Latest changes are explained in their blog here

Updated without a hitch, WOT glitch is still there though.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jul 2010, 02:56 PM   #35 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,313
Default

Thanks for this new deya, these guys obviously mean serious business. You also have to admire their development strategy and plain speaking. They've sourced a highly competent English speaking bod to produce their marketing blurb and so far they're doing a very good job. Just the right amount of humor mixed in with the technical stuff to make the reading experience pleasant as well as informative.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jul 2010, 03:29 PM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Agreed, everything seems so upbeat with them, very positive. The new highlighted search feature is very useful to me so that's a welcome addition. One thing I noticed after the update, I opened Revo and where Luna previously showed 123mb of used disc space it now shows only 98mb (full install) so it seems to have shed a bit of weight with this release, not quite sure just why that would be but everything is working as it was before. It's still running nice and light as well.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jul 2010, 09:01 PM   #37 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,313
Default

No doubt the option to actually choose between versions of Gecko will suit some folks as well.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Aug 2010, 01:43 PM   #38 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,
Is it safe to install, configure (& uninstall) Lunascape without uninstalling Firefox in regards to profiles?
I've invested quite some effort & time to configure Firefox the way it suits me and I'd hate to run into any conflicts just to see if I want to keep Lunascape.
If I decide to keep Lunascape, can I import my Firefox profile settings to it or do I have to build it from scratch?
I use FEBE with Firefox.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Aug 2010, 10:01 AM   #39 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,313
Default

One example here:

http://en.bbs.luna.tv/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=635

I didn't have any problems with Lunascape affecting my Firefox settings. I did with Pale Moon when I uninstalled it but Lunascape was fine.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Aug 2010, 08:40 PM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Thanks MC for the link, made me go through the whole "How To" and part of the "Troubleshooting" section of the forum.
Sadly it seems that what I have in mind is not doable, the best that can be done is:
http://en.bbs.luna.tv/viewtopic.php?...e8dc234da46301

Looks like I have to take it step by step and see how it'd work out.

Thanks again
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.