Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01. Sep 2010, 12:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasa1 View Post
How can I tell which DNS server I'm using currently ? Is there some browser-based method? Jojoyee had provided this for the current IP address.
Alternatively you could also open a command prompt and type :-

ipconfig /all

It'll be listed there.

(DNS Benchmark itself will also display your current DNS addresses at the top of the list when run)

Last edited by Sope; 01. Sep 2010 at 12:36 PM.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Sep 2010, 02:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

Thanks, MC & Sope
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Sep 2010, 06:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,
In addition to all the above, you should be able to get that info through your router's interface and of course through the properties of the TCP/IP Internet protocol of your Local Connection.

Sope's method is the simplest, though.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Sep 2010, 09:36 AM   #14 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,284
Default

All of these methods are fine but I think we should remember that the majority of Windows users will not be happy using the command line or their system settings to access this information. Nir Sofer's tool on the other hand requires no installation and a simple click will reveal a whole stack of useful detail about your network adapters and protocol stats.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Sep 2010, 05:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
All of these methods are fine but I think we should remember that the majority of Windows users will not be happy using the command line or their system settings to access this information.
I don't see any harm in offering a few different options to achieve the same goal.
It's always nice to have a choice
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Sep 2010, 07:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

I'm having a bit of trouble in wording my opinion without sounding like a smartass or arrogant. So, if anything comes accross the wrong way, apologies in advance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
All of these methods are fine but I think we should remember that the majority of Windows users will not be happy using the command line or their system settings to access this information. ...
...will reveal a whole stack of useful detail about your network adapters and protocol stats.
Do you really believe that someone that falls into this category would actually be interested in accessing all this information?
I personally doubt it. A user interested in changing/ controlling the DNS servers of his/ her Internet connection, would be tech savvy enough to already know how to use cmd or go through the properties of Local Connection.

If on the other hand he/ she doesn't, along with accessing the DNS servers, he/ she will learn a couple more useful things - just as Sope already said.

Just ... my tuppence worth.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Sep 2010, 08:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

you could also double click on network connection icon on taskbar then support tab then details.

I just don't like using 3rd party software when windows already shows you in 3 clicks :S
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Sep 2010, 07:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
you could also double click on network connection icon on taskbar then support tab then details.

I just don't like using 3rd party software when windows already shows you in 3 clicks :S
This is a very good point but some users must have a "thing" to perform these functions for them. This also explains the existence of other items of dubious usefulness such as cup holders
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.