Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21. Jan 2010, 07:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,502
Default

Have to agree with that, the Personas feature is very good. That was the last thing that I thought I'd be interested in because looks don't bother me all that much at all, but I'm surprised how many there are to choose from. I'm now looking at FF in the most appalling shade of yellow you could imagine, but the thing is, I can see it all much more clearly. No restart to install/uninstall either, I like that. It's a good feature and one that I think should impress a lot of younger users, people like my daughter.. although I shudder to think at the shades of pink that are available.

So far, I'm really impressed with this. I think they've got it right this time, I haven't found anything I don't like about it. But it's early days
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 08:55 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,286
Default

I am now using Firefox 3.6. I uninstalled Firefox 3.5.7, and installed Firefox 3.6 fresh.

Its not as fast as I expected it to be. I thought speed will be a vast improvement, but nope. Maybe there is just a little bit of improvement, but not a lot. Maybe I had too high expectations.

I saw about Personas when Firefox first started after the install, on first run. I did not select any Persona that time. I thought Personas would be available in Firefox 3.6 internally, but I cannot find it anywhere. I thought Personas was to be a default part of Firefox 3.6. Am confused about this. Anyways, I had used Personas when it was available as an extension. I found it OK. So, not a big thing, but still I want to know that if its a part of FF 3.6, where is it .

Also, plugin check was also supposed to be a part of Firefox 3.6, and I cannot access it, or find it anywhere. Am I missing something?.

Two of my add-ons don't work with Firefox 3.6. These are ChromaPlus... to display tabs in different colors... and TabKit... for better tab management. Well, I am happy that at least the main add-ons like FEBE, NoScript, FlashGot, AdBlockPlus work.

I have not yet looked if Firefox is quick to start, once closed down.

Hmmm... not much to go ooh-la-la as I was expecting it to be. I think I was expecting a lot .
__________________
Anupam

Last edited by Anupam; 21. Jan 2010 at 08:58 PM. Reason: Added more
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:09 PM   #23 (permalink)
dre
Senior Member
 
dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I am now using Firefox 3.6. I uninstalled Firefox 3.5.7, and installed Firefox 3.6 fresh.

Its not as fast as I expected it to be. I thought speed will be a vast improvement, but nope. Maybe there is just a little bit of improvement, but not a lot. Maybe I had too high expectations.

I saw about Personas when Firefox first started after the install, on first run. I did not select any Persona that time. I thought Personas would be available in Firefox 3.6 internally, but I cannot find it anywhere. I thought Personas was to be a default part of Firefox 3.6. Am confused about this. Anyways, I had used Personas when it was available as an extension. I found it OK. So, not a big thing, but still I want to know that if its a part of FF 3.6, where is it .

Also, plugin check was also supposed to be a part of Firefox 3.6, and I cannot access it, or find it anywhere. Am I missing something?.

Two of my add-ons don't work with Firefox 3.6. These are ChromaPlus... to display tabs in different colors... and TabKit... for better tab management. Well, I am happy that at least the main add-ons like FEBE, NoScript, FlashGot, AdBlockPlus work.

I have not yet looked if Firefox is quick to start, once closed down.

Hmmm... not much to go ooh-la-la as I was expecting it to be. I think I was expecting a lot .
Like when you installed themes with previous FF, it is still under add-ons,themes. When you go to the personas section on Mozilla add-ons site, you highlight the theme, any theme and it automatically changes to that theme. If you click on it it installs permanently. So basically what has changed about that is, you don't have to physically like download the them through FF. After you selected the theme, it adds it automatically in your add-ons,theme section. Plug in check is also just integrated...
__________________
Windows 3.0, IBM PS/2 i486/DX2, 256K RAM, 50MB HDD, Integrated onboard gfx...
dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,502
Default

To view Personas you have to go to the Customize Firefox page in bookmarks.. To use the Plugin Check you need to go to add ons manager in tools.. click on plug ins, and then click the 'find updates' button. It will open a wepage and check your plug ins... you'll have to set NoScript to allow it.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:17 PM   #25 (permalink)
dre
Senior Member
 
dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Default

Results of a SunSpider test on a Windows 7 machine (FF3 3,198 ms, FF 3.5 1,188 ms, FF 3.6 995 ms!

I can clearly see a speed difference on my Windows 7...
__________________
Windows 3.0, IBM PS/2 i486/DX2, 256K RAM, 50MB HDD, Integrated onboard gfx...
dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:22 PM   #26 (permalink)
dre
Senior Member
 
dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
To view Personas you have to go to the Customize Firefox page in bookmarks.. To use the Plugin Check you need to go to add ons manager in tools.. click on plug ins, and then click the 'find updates' button. It will open a wepage and check your plug ins... you'll have to set NoScript to allow it.
What do you mean? You have to download this plug in? If so i have tried find updates, only searches for the updates you currently have installed...
__________________
Windows 3.0, IBM PS/2 i486/DX2, 256K RAM, 50MB HDD, Integrated onboard gfx...
dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:25 PM   #27 (permalink)
dre
Senior Member
 
dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
To view Personas you have to go to the Customize Firefox page in bookmarks.. To use the Plugin Check you need to go to add ons manager in tools.. click on plug ins, and then click the 'find updates' button. It will open a wepage and check your plug ins... you'll have to set NoScript to allow it.
Okay you are right yes, you have to download the plug in.
__________________
Windows 3.0, IBM PS/2 i486/DX2, 256K RAM, 50MB HDD, Integrated onboard gfx...
dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
dre
Senior Member
 
dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Default

I was taking the long way of adding the themes. It works fantastically. Just browse through your personas plug in and select theme. Then it adds it automatically to your themes.
__________________
Windows 3.0, IBM PS/2 i486/DX2, 256K RAM, 50MB HDD, Integrated onboard gfx...
dre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,286
Default

Thanks deya, that helped . Now, I am clear about the Plugin Check option. So, all they have done is, provided a "Find Updates" button, so that clicking it will open up the Plugin Check page. I was expecting something integrated in Firefox itself. They just made it easy, so that you don't have to bookmark the page, or search on Google, when you need it.

dre, you don't have to download or install any plugin. Just go to Add-ons, and then to the Plugins tab. Clicking "Find Updates" on that tab, will open up the Plugin Check webpage, which will check for outdated plugins.

I still can't find Personas. Will it be on the Bookmarks menu? I can't find any Customize Bookmarks anywhere.
I use Xmarks, and after installing FF 3.6, I synchronized the bookmarks using it. So, maybe that changed the whole bookmark menu. I will have to reinstall Firefox, and then check again, what was there originally.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jan 2010, 09:37 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,502
Default

Just been trying a few things out as regards the speed. NoScript disabled = lightning fast page loads.. NoScript enabled = much slower page loads. I know that NoScript is very useful to have but I sometimes wonder if it defeats the object of making FF a faster browser when some of the add ons slow it down again.

Quote from the Mozilla features page.. "Fasten your seatbelt: Firefox now includes the TraceMonkey JavaScript engine, which gives the browser dramatically better performance than ever before" ... this is true, without NoScript running.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.