Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Jan 2010, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,870
Default Chrome shortcuts

To delete cookies from Chrome 4.0, I have to click how many times?
  1. Tools (Wrench icon)
  2. Options
  3. Personal stuff
  4. Clear Browsing Data
  5. Clear Browsing Data (yes, repeat on another window) after ticking Delete Cookies
  6. Close
6 times!

Now I found this useful shortcut
Ctrl-Shift-Delete, then click Clear Browsing Data just one time.

If you're using Chrome, this shortcut is useful for deleting cookies when needed prior to log in here.

Other Chrome shortcuts are available here.

Last edited by Jojoyee; 05. Jan 2010 at 11:09 AM.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Mar 2010, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,342
Default

Not to hijack this thread, but how do I add a search bar to Chrome? I use Google search in Firefox and have gotten quite used to having this function within my browser. I can't figure out how to add one to Chrome?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Mar 2010, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

You don't have to . Because, the address bar acts as a search bar too. Just type anything you want to search, and hit the Enter button. But yeah, I have observed, it lacks the auto-completion feature. If anyone knows how to turn that on, for Chrome, please share.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Mar 2010, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,342
Default

Ohhh... I just tried it. Ain't that cool?! Thanks for the tip.

P.S. I was getting quite frustrated with not being able to figure out how to add a search bar. *duh*
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 03:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
...But yeah, I have observed, it lacks the auto-completion feature. If anyone knows how to turn that on, for Chrome, please share.
This might the one you're looking for? Form autofill
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 06:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

No Jojo, that's not it. Actually, its a feature of Google itself. When you type in words for your query, Google suggests, and tries to autocomplete them. If you use the Google search bar that's within Firefox, it also suggests things... but I have found that missing in other browsers, like Opera, K-Meleon, Chrome, Iron.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 10:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
When you type in words for your query, Google suggests, and tries to autocomplete them. If you use the Google search bar that's within Firefox, it also suggests things... but I have found that missing in other browsers, like Opera, K-Meleon, Chrome, Iron.
Autofill with profile setup? Currently I think available in the latest development releases of Google Chrome 5 according to this.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Ermm... you are misunderstanding me. I am not talking about autofill of forms. I am just talking about Google search. Open Google on any browser, and then type in few words of software , you will get many suggestions for your query, to make your job easier. For example, type "bittorrent", and after that you will get suggestions like "bittorrent download", "bittorrent movies", "bittorent search" etc.

This feature can be found in Firefox Google Search bar, on the right hand side. But, on other browsers having Google Search, this suggestion, or autocomplete feature, does not work.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 10:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,870
Default

Wow, sometimes to read one's mind is more difficult than to give an answer. I'm getting old, looks like reaching 100.

Go to Wrench > Options > Under the Hood, check "Use a suggestion service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar."

After enabling it, it should give suggestions when you type, but looks like it gives fewer suggestions than those given by Firefox Google Search.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 12:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Thanks Jojo, but seems like that option is not present in Iron. I did not see it.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.