Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29. Mar 2010, 02:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,855
Default

I use Chrome and am not sure if the same setting is available to its derivative Iron. Personally I'm ok with Google privacy policy.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 02:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Yeah, seems like not all settings are same with Chrome, and derivatives like Iron. Thanks for the link Jojo, I will have a look. I think I had given Chrome a try long time ago, and I found it to be 'talkative'... and heavy. First, it installs via an online updater, a thing which I hate. Then, its updater seems to perform constant activity, and is present in the memory... or so.. do not remember the details exactly. How do you find all these things?

Anyone tried ChromePlus.. is it a separate browser, or extension to Chrome, or what?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 03:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,855
Default

To me, Iron and ChromePlus are derivatives from Chrome. I tried both briefly and still like the mainstream Chrome.

I don't like online updater either, but with broadband the update is fast, and I don't need to update it as frequently as the way I have to update Firefox add-ons and restart FF after updating.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 03:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

With fast internet, the online installer is not a problem, but with a slow internet like mine, which can break often in its bad days, it is a pain.

Thanks for the inputs Jojo, I might try Chrome. I suggested it to my brother too.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 03:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,336
Default

I am using Chrome more and more on my OLD home PC. (My other one is still in the shop.) I am liking it better and better (more and more?). It is fast; much faster than FF. I do miss some of my add-ons, however. I especially miss Update Scanner, Webmail notifier, and Dr. Web. I use LastPass on Chrome rather than my Roboform and I'm liking it as well.

At work, I still use FF. My dilemma is which one to use when I finally get my PC back from the shop with a brand new install of 64-bit Win7?!
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 03:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojoyee View Post
I don't like online updater either, but with broadband the update is fast, and I don't need to update it as frequently as the way I have to update Firefox add-ons and restart FF after updating.
Is the updating really a problem? I hear Chrome has a diff updater which means that the updater can calculate the changes between the versions and download only the differences in the binary code. This typically means that the download in updates is very small. This is just for the browser. I don't know how the extensions are updated.
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 04:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Thanks Jojo, but seems like that option is not present in Iron. I did not see it.
That was one of the things removed in Iron because of privacy concerns. What you type should not be sent to Google was one of their concerns.
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 04:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Ah OK, thanks for that clarification sa1 . Anyways, removing that option is not of much use, because once you open the Google webpage, that option is enabled .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 04:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
sa1
Full Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Ah OK, thanks for that clarification sa1 . Anyways, removing that option is not of much use, because once you open the Google webpage, that option is enabled .
Ah who does that anymore? I don't, the side effect being I miss out on their doodles.
sa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Mar 2010, 04:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sa1 View Post
Ah who does that anymore? I don't, the side effect being I miss out on their doodles.
Ermm, it is enabled by default on the Google webpage? How do u disable it? .. any way? Anyways, I find it helpful, so I am not gonna turn it off.

Or, are you saying you do not use Google search anymore?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.