Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06. Oct 2009, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 158
Default Wireless security

Hi guys, hope you guys can help me with this.
I've currently a wireless network that appears as an unsecured network when I try to access it. It happened right after I hid my SSID on my wireless settings, is that suppose to be normal?

It is actually secured though i think. What happens when i double click on the unsecured network is that it'll ask for the network name (lets call it ABC) and after I've entered it, it would continue to connect to the ABC network and would then show up as secured on my network.
So what im trying to ask is if the unsecured part is suppose to pop up? If i take off SSID off hide mode, the original network (ABC) would appear back on as secured.
Terarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Oct 2009, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terarus View Post
What happens when i double click on the unsecured network is that it'll ask for the network name (lets call it ABC) and after I've entered it, it would continue to connect to the ABC network and would then show up as secured on my network.
I'm no expert but this doesn't sound quite right to me as usually with a secure network you need to enter both a SSID (network name) and a Network Key / Passphrase before it will allow you to connect.

Whether your router is broadcasting or not, I believe it should still show up as a security enabled connection.

If it was me, I would try removing any network connections listed/stored by your computer, then go through the connection process again with the router broadcasting it's SSID. Once you have configured your computer to automatically connect to this network when detected, go back into the router setup page and disable SSID broadcasting.
See if that makes any difference?
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Oct 2009, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 158
Default

I've already setup the laptops so they log in without the need to enter the credentials over and over again. It is a home network.

When i turn on broadcasting, the connection appears as secure again. It only goes unsecured when i turn off broadcasting.
Terarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Oct 2009, 07:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA-CA
Posts: 26
Cool

Hi Terarus, if you don't get an answer here you might ask over at Craigslist Computer Discussion Forum. A couple of geeks that frequent there know wireless connections inside and out. I know how frustrating a problem like this can be...
EntitY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.