Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27. Sep 2009, 03:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EntitY View Post
Hi Anupam, mainly since the new engine, I can feel a slight drag on my Windows XP and I get too many, "Server cannot be found" when trying to open websites. I probably hold the worlds record for reinstalling FF, and that is after removing every file. I even tried every fix known to the web. Finally I simply got fed up and installed Iron and it made me recall how quick and smooth a browser is suppose to operate. Don't get me wrong here. I would switch back to FF in a heartbeat, if it functioned nearly as good as Iron. I simply like the layout of FF the best.
That's strange, because I never experienced anything like this... and I have been using Firefox for a long time now. I am using the latest version, and did not had any problem with it. Yes, I had some occasional crashes, but they are very rare.

Might be that problem lies elsewhere, or with any add-on?

I do admit about the memory usage though... it gets quite high. But, I think Google Chrome, and SRWare Iron also suffer from the same defects... as does Safari(even its download size is large).

And you are right, the layout of Firefox, useful add-ons, usability etc. are the things which keep me loyal to Firefox. I have tried different browsers, but I stick to Firefox in the end.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Sep 2009, 03:11 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,312
Default

This might be the exact link for SRWare Iron extensions:
http://www.chrome-plugins.info/en/

Taken from the forum link which EntitY posted. Although, there are some other useful links on the forum page... like the extensions are not made for Iron, but they do work with Iron. How to uninstall these extensions for Iron, is also given on the page. Thanks for the link .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Sep 2009, 07:05 PM   #23 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA-CA
Posts: 26
Default

Yes, not every user has these FF problems, but enough users do to make it a major problem. I normally did not run any addons and if I did it was only AddBlock Plus. I used different firewalls and usually use XP-firewall and still had FF problems. I don't use a bunch of different software like some users do, because I like to run as lite as possible. You are right about memory usage but Iron is still faster than FF was for me. At one point I even reinstalled Windows, for other reasons than the FF problems, but the problems were still present afterward. I will try the newer release 3.6 when the final version comes out and maybe it will run like it should...
EntitY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Sep 2009, 09:02 PM   #24 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA-CA
Posts: 26
Default

Anupam, I installed the recent version o FF, recent for me, and it is working good, to my surprise. The only other change was, I finally installed IE8, which I dunno if that would be any kind of fix. I am not an IT-Tech, or, PC-Geek in any form. I am only an experienced Cyber-Surfer, so had to learn about security and the best ways to get rid of Malware.
I got a single "Server not found" when I used AddBlock Plus, so I disabled it and it has not happened since. This is only my second day of this latest FF version, so am keeping my fingers crossed...
EntitY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Oct 2009, 08:52 AM   #25 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,312
Default

EntitY, I am glad you gave Firefox a try again, and good to hear it is working well for you . I am sure it has nothing to do with IE8. Maybe, it was because of the add-on... something wrong with its settings. That's where the problem lies. I had found it strange, when you had first posted about Firefox problem... that other browsers were able to open pages, and not Firefox. There had to be something wrong.

I am now glad its working, and I hope it keeps on that way .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Nov 2009, 11:42 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 111
Default

hey guys there is anew version of sware-iron,is a beta version ,from chrome v.4.
aqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Apr 2011, 06:23 PM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I decided I would give SRWare Iron 10.0.650.0 a spin on my Ubuntu 10.10 machine. I almost suffered whiplash it was so fast. After using FF for so long I grew accustomed to its speed (lets call it slow) and never realized how fast a browser could be. Now I will try customize it to my liking.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Apr 2011, 09:26 PM   #28 (permalink)
Abandoned
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
I decided I would give SRWare Iron 10.0.650.0 a spin on my Ubuntu 10.10 machine. I almost suffered whiplash it was so fast. After using FF for so long I grew accustomed to its speed (lets call it slow) and never realized how fast a browser could be. Now I will try customize it to my liking.
Yeah, the WebKit engine feels like it's on steroids to me compared to the Gecko Engine.

Last edited by JohnnyDollar; 24. Apr 2011 at 09:35 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24. Apr 2011, 10:26 PM   #29 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
I decided I would give SRWare Iron 10.0.650.0 a spin on my Ubuntu 10.10 machine. I almost suffered whiplash it was so fast. After using FF for so long I grew accustomed to its speed (lets call it slow) and never realized how fast a browser could be. Now I will try customize it to my liking.
What version of Firefox were you using?
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Apr 2011, 11:42 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I use FF 3.6.16 Linux version which is blazing fast Compared to FF from Windows. When I start FF (also 3.6) from windows for this first time after boot-up it is agonizingly slow. (And yes I have allot of addons) I just figure it's worth the wait to have my goodies.

Anyway I have add-block and a couple other add-ons installed on iron and it hasn't slowed a bit. I plan on using it a few days before I decide which one I want as my default browser.

The thing about FF it's like an old comfortable shoe may not be fast but it feels good.

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.