Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03. Nov 2015, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,276
Default Firefox 42

Mozilla Firefox 42.0 has been released and is available officially.

Release notes here:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo.../releasenotes/

Offline setup can be downloaded here:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all/
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Nov 2015, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Mozilla Firefox 42.0 has been released and is available officially.

Release notes here:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo.../releasenotes/

Offline setup can be downloaded here:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all/
Anupam

Hi,

As I wish to run the new 42 version x64 I did a manual download, not an upgrade as advised in:
http://www.ghacks.net/2015/11/02/fir...t-what-is-new/

In about:buildconfig it is still showing 32 only.

Tried several time to get the 42 version for 64, the only one that worked was Nightly but I'm not on the level to use it comfortably.

Regards,

L.M
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Nov 2015, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,276
Default

Hi L.M

Most probably, you are on a 64-bit OS, but let me ask again just to be sure . I hope you are using a 64-bit OS.

I don't have idea about 64-bit Firefox, because I am on 32-bit Windows 10. So, it does not show 64-bit versions for me when I download.

You probably misread the Ghacks article. In the article, the internal update was suggested for the 32-bit version only. If you read the content under the heading "Special Case: Firefox 32-bit to 64-bit", then you will notice that he says you cannot upgrade a 32-bit version to 64-bit version directly.

An internal update will always update Firefox to whatever version was installed previously. So, an internal update for 32-bit will upgrade to 32-bit only, and not to 64-bit.

Therefore, if you want to install 64-bit version, you have to download the setup for it, and then install it. Which is what you did though.

Now, where did you download the setup for 64-bit Firefox from?

In this article, towards the end, the download link for 64-bit is provided. So, you can download it again from there and see.

http://news.thewindowsclub.com/firef...ownload-80708/

Although the Ghacks article implies that you can install 64-bit, and 32-bit on the system, but my preference would be to first uninstall the 32-bit version, and then install the 64-bit one.

For backing up for bookmarks, extensions, etc, you can make use of the add-on FEBE:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/febe/

It's an excellent add-on for backup, which I have been using for years now.

So, after backing up the necessary things from Firefox with FEBE, uninstall the 32-bit version, and then install the 64-bit version, and see how it goes.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Nov 2015, 10:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

#3

Anupam

Thanks for your extensive reply. I do have Firefox bookmarks saved in an external HDD, the link to the back up addon will came handy though.

My computer run on x64 OS. I did uninstall the 32 bit version before installing the 64 bit from the Ghacks download link.
By the way I have W 10 installed (sick of dodging W 7 tricky updates and opted for W 10 with all the possible tweaks to get the most privacy out of it)

I'll download Firefox 64 bit from the link you gave me and repeat the process and let you know how it goes.

L.M
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Nov 2015, 10:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,276
Default

OK, sounds good. Good luck .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Nov 2015, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Anupam

Did it and now in about:buildconfig it show that I do have the 64 bit version installed.

This time though I completely removed any trace of the 32 bit version using Geek Uninstaller.
I did not do that before, I suspect that the traces left caused the exe. to install 32 bit again.

All is good now.

Thanks again.


L.M

Last edited by L.M; 04. Nov 2015 at 11:20 AM.
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Nov 2015, 11:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,276
Default

Good to know L.M.

Do share with us your experience with the 64-bit Firefox.

About the installation before, I am not sure if the leftover 32-bit files were responsible. It might be possible that somehow you had downloaded the 32-bit setup itself. And now since you directly downloaded the 64-bit, it worked.

Anyways, it's good that you have 64-bit Firefox running now.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Nov 2015, 11:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

<Do share with us your experience with the 64-bit Firefox.>


I'll do my best. Take care.

L.M
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Nov 2015, 02:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 549
Default

Also look at Waterfox, which I thought was the name for FF 64 until I just checked.
I don't have a 64 bit machine to test it.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Nov 2015, 11:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
Also look at Waterfox, which I thought was the name for FF 64 until I just checked.
I don't have a 64 bit machine to test it.
Tried Waterfox 64 bit a while ago. Not the words of an expert but to me it worked fine, just that, updates to keep it up to speed with Firefox where taking weeks to come.
It maybe better now, I may give it a go again, if so I'll report back.

Back to Firefox 64 bit:
Working just fine and I noticed some improvement when streaming, had a lot a freezing with previous versions, that I guess was due to the flash player. I ended up using FF as a second browser.
Also all my extensions, bookmarks works and so far so good. Finger crossed, it will be upgraded to my first browser again.

L.M

L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.