Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25. Nov 2015, 08:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
Default

For awhile I haven't been able to open it after upgrading...it acts like it's going to work but than stops if I open task manager there are instances there but it won't open I've even tried to completely remove it and start over with a clean install but no luck..any idea's?? I'm running Win10
CASD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Nov 2015, 09:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,486
Default

I've not experienced anything like the issue you're describing. I'm running it on Win10 and haven't had any problems. Are you using the 32 or 64 bit Vivaldi? I run the 32 bit version of Vivaldi on a Win10 64 bit system because 64 bit Vivaldi is experimental and there can be issues with it. Just a thought.

Maybe try using something like Geek Uninstaller to completely remove Vivaldi from your system and then try a fresh install?

I've searched their forum and can't seem to find anything similar to the issue you're having. If I come across anything I'll post it here.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. Nov 2015, 10:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,095
Default

Did upgrade via the browser itself and all went well.
Importing data crash issue has been resolved.
In fact, everything from first try at importing from Firefox worked in one single click. No waiting! Wow!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2015, 03:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,095
Default

Don't know if this is related to CASD's issue but maybe his AV is reacting to it just like mine?

After installing upgrade and running as usual, 360 Total Security stops it from running (see attachment).

Have sent the file to Virus Total and it comes out with a clean bill of health.
Have also reported this to Vivaldi forum.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg vivaldi.jpg (52.2 KB, 2 views)
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2015, 03:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 124
Default

Used Geek to uninstall..changed temp folder and it worked Thanks Everyone
CASD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Dec 2015, 04:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,486
Default

Snapshot 1.0.340.7 - Silent Tabs For Users, Netflix support and HTML5 notifications;

https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/7...-notifications

"Today's snapshot introduces a new feature, something we internally call “Silent Tabs For Users”—an easy way to kill annoying sounds in the browser. We also added Netflix support, HTML5 notifications and of course fixed a bunch of bugs" ......
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Dec 2015, 06:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,486
Default

Snapshot 1.0.344.5 - Set font sizes and encoding;

https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/7...s-and-encoding

"Today's snapshot gives you the option of setting the minimum font size and a default character encoding" ......
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Dec 2015, 06:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,486
Default

Snapshot 1.0.344.24 - Closing in on beta 2;

https://vivaldi.net/en-US/teamblog/7...g-in-on-beta-2

"Today's update brings us a step closer to our second beta, with several crucial fixes for: site compatibility, thumbnail problems, black/unresponsive tabs, Mac keyboard shortcuts, Linux packaging, spatial navigation and tab muting" ......
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Dec 2015, 03:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

After installing 1.0.340.7 I found I could no longer launch the browser.

When I tried to install 1.0.344.24 I got a message saying that Vivaldi was still running and needed to be stopped! I used the Task Manager to kill the process (it wasn't showing under Applications).

I then laumched Revo Unistaller and it showed 2 instances of Vivaldi (!), I then uninstalled one of them, but could not uninstall the other!!

I eventually managed to delete the Vivaldi registry key before successfully installing 1.0.344.24. Unfortunately, I no longer have my add-ons and my imported bookmarks, but I can sort that out later.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Dec 2015, 12:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,486
Default

Strange you had two instances installed - unless at some point you changed the install location during the set-up?

There's a thread on their forum regarding two separate installs;

https://vivaldi.net/en-US/forum/viva...-installations

.... seems to work ok, but don't know if it sheds any light on your issue - probably not.

I also wish they'd add the option to export bookmarks to HTML or re-enable the Chrome bookmarks manager, which gives you that option. I just prefer using that method to import them.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.