Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08. Jul 2015, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default Firefox 39, Sandboxie and Plugin-Hang-UI

All,

I'm having a devil of a time with the recent version of Firefox and Sandboxie and don't quite know how to fix it...

On certain Flash heavy sites, Huffington Post comes to mind as a site that is a complete mess, I get a pop-up from Sandboxie about: plugin-hang-UI.exe.

Sandboxie cancels the process and asks me if I want to add it to start/run.

I have a vague notion of plugin-hang, but not completely, never had an issue with this and Sandboxie before.

This started with the current version of FF, it may also be related to another extension, Flash Control, although I disabled it and still had issues.

BTW, I also updated Flash to it's latest and greatest after the update to FF39, maybe that's an issue, as well.

My question is: Should I add plugin hang to my start/run? Is it safe to do that?

Thanks...
windyctyprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2015, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

You don't need to add Plugin-Hang-UI to Start Run allowed programs. If your Firefox continues to work fine after closing the message, then it can be ignored and next time you get one of them, click Hide. That way you wont get the message anymore.

If Plugin-Hang-UI is causing problems for you running Firefox sandboxed, you can disable it. In about:config, change the value to 0. for the preference below.


dom.ipc.plugins.hangUITimeoutSecs

Greetings

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2015, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default

Bo,

As always thanks...It does run fine after closing the message, no more issues.

Made the change in about:config, as well.

I was also a bit concerned because there has been a major Flash exploit found and the patch wasn't available early this morning, thought that may have been an issue.

I may uninstall Flash and see what happens, just as an aside.

Thanks again...
windyctyprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2015, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 885
Default

try this, http://www.ghacks.net/2014/12/21/how...de-in-firefox/

see if it works :S
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jul 2015, 01:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default

eyeb,

I disabled protected mode a long time ago, I just confirmed that it is disabled.

Bo's advice worked, let's see what happens over the next few days.

This has happened recently on a few flash heavy sites, it takes forever to load, invoking the plugin hang process.

Thanks.
windyctyprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.