Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18. May 2015, 12:37 PM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

I thought that was the first thing every technician did when faced with the unknown??

I certainly do.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. May 2015, 01:28 PM   #32 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,120
Default

I do (reboot, that is) but normally only when there is a system wide problem as opposed to a software specific issue. This was something that had never occurred before in all my years running Sandboxie: a simple case of not seeing the wood for all the trees!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. May 2015, 05:09 PM   #33 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
This was something that had never occurred before in all my years running Sandboxie...
Thats rare. Most Sandboxie users experience this issue sometimes (sandbox doesn't delete). The message you got when trying to delete the sandbox all it means is that a program outside the sandbox has a lock on files that are inside the sandbox. When that happens, the sandbox can not be deleted until you reboot. The reboot frees the sandboxed files.

Usually, other security programs are the ones that cause the lock. When I used antiviruses, I used to experience this issue about once every three or four months. Since I stopped using antiviruses (Dec 2010), it has occurred only a couple of times. In my opinion, this being my fault for doing too many things at the same time and opening and closing sandboxes too fast.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. May 2015, 06:10 PM   #34 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
I do (reboot, that is) but normally only when there is a system wide problem as opposed to a software specific issue.
I don't want to derail this topic, but I had a recent issue that I thought was specific to a certain program - PDF-XChange Viewer. I was trying to print a PDF and it kept telling me nothing is selected. No matter what I try I couldn't fix the problem. Finally, I rebooted and the problem went away.

Lesson learned: Rebooting can solve mysterious issues that you have been banging your head over.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. May 2015, 04:26 PM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

I'll go one further and say that under some circumstances a reboot is not enough either.

A case in point.
I was working on a network and it involved changing network settings and even some cards and drivers. I'd got to the point where I thought I had shuffled the settings around and got all the systems with the same settings including having rebooted every machine.
But I just could not get some of them to talk to the rest. I spent hours on it to the point that at 4 o'clock in the morning I just said something rude and turned everything off at the wall and went to bed.

Next morning I powered it all up, expecting to have a very frustrating day debugging.
Much to my surprise and delight everything worked perfectly without any changes.
It seems that some network cards cache settings and even remember them through power cycles if the capacitors haven't had time to discharge. So some of the cards were not refreshing themselves with my changes.

I haven't had that problem since.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2015, 03:12 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Firefox 38.0.5 is available for download. Release notes:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo.../releasenotes/
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2015, 01:54 AM   #37 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

I like Firefox.
This version seems to be fastest (page rendering wise) yet!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.