Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Feb 2015, 10:37 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

Ya, i was perhaps the last one there to confirm what another user had posted, namely, that it wasn't effective at all.

Whatever the reason it was pulled out for, whenever they do get it back in, it will surely become a very popular addon.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2015, 10:40 PM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

BTW, it was tagged "experimental" at the time.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2015, 11:19 AM   #23 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 3
Default

It is definitely there now. Hopefully to stay. Slightly older build than what is available on github.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ublock/
kintpuash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2015, 06:37 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

hm i like it so far. It doesn't work entirely with some sites that I visit so I keep adblock too. I also like adblocks' content hider better, easier to use with element picker for me since I can edit it how I like better than ublock's

I'll use both in tandem and see if I like both or start to prefer one over the other
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2015, 08:07 AM   #25 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,940
Default

uBlock is now uBlock Origin
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2015, 10:46 AM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Wondered what had happened there. I installed it in UC Browser when danielson mentioned it last week and noticed the different icon for the extension. Never thought too much about to be honest, it installed and worked fine, still does because I just went and updated it manually. That's cleared that up then.

Here's the ghacks take on the situation;

http://www.ghacks.net/2015/04/15/ubl...ore-by-google/

... seems that Raymond Hill walked out of the project then forked it and created uBlocko.

GitHub page is here;

https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/releases

Thanks for pointing that out, George.J. Whichever version you have installed seems to be working ok though, but just keep an eye on it I suppose.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2015, 11:44 AM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

Experimental one for Firefox works fine for me.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ublock/
They haven't changed the name there yet.
Is it not the same?

Last edited by danielson; 17. Apr 2015 at 11:45 AM. Reason: extra text
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2015, 12:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Different forks, different people, danielson. Have a look here;

https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock

Have a read, it should explain more. That page is for the new uBlock Origin, developed by Gorhill, Raymond Hill.

I've installed the new version of uBlock Origin in Opera stable and Opera Dev now, both work fine. I've disabled the old uBlock for now, in both. You can install it from the Chrome Store but you'll need this extension installed in Opera to do it;

https://addons.opera.com/en-gb/exten...-9/?display=en

... that enables you to install Chrome extensions - the Opera extensions site doesn't have the new version yet.

Once you've installed that, go to the Chrome Store page for uBlock Origin;

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/d...dnhcphjbkeiagm

.. and click 'Add to Opera' .... note: you need to enable 'Developer mode' on the Opera extensions manager page or it won't install. So do that first.

Once the new extension is installed, enable it, set your filters, and update it.

Seems there's been a bit of a falling out between the three various devs, and this is the result of it. Principals and money by the looks of it.

I've decided to use the new one and stick with the Gorhill version.

Last edited by deya; 17. Apr 2015 at 12:14 PM.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2015, 12:14 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Thanks for the heads up George.J.

After reading a few different online articles about the situation, for now I've chosen to disable uBlock and install uBlocko in Waterfox. My preference is to stick with the original dev while he is continuing to actively maintain and develop his fork.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2015, 12:29 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Agree with Sope about sticking with the original dev. Installed uBlocko to Vivaldi now. No problems.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.