Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29. Nov 2015, 04:36 PM   #61 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Ok, Win7, so that could explain the differences with icons in the toolbar.

Some Tableau tiles are different colours in Vista and Win10 also. So appearance does vary on different OS's. And maybe the conflict with the YT extensions are something to do with Blink?

There is a support service for Yandex Browser;

http://feedback2.yandex.com/yabrowser/

.... dunno if you used this before when you asked about an English forum?

I was reading the Russian site, Yandex Club, and users are giving plenty of feedback on there, and being answered so they are listening and taking note of bugs etc.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 02:02 AM   #62 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,176
Default

Yandex Club Forum?
Is there an English section?

Have submitted bug via browser help.
It's still Sunday in many places so it'll probably be a couple of days before they get back.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 03:02 PM   #63 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

The page is part of the Yandex site, and it's called Club Browser. Like the Vivaldi Team Blog, or Opera Team Blog and they post news on the latest releases of the browser, desktop and mobile versions etc.

There you can post comments, bugs and whatnot, same as you can for Vivaldi and Opera. But it's Russian speaking, there is no English section. I think I may have PM'd you a link to it before? .. maybe you lost it, but whatever, we're to use English only on this forum so no point me putting a link to it here. But Yandex auto translates it and you can read it that way.

If you read it you see users commenting about the same things we're discussing here at the moment ie, extension buttons not showing and including a reply from the developer saying maybe they'll increase the number that show. There is also a comment about having an English version of the blog, amongst many others for various things.

The blog (dated Nov 6 2015) states that this latest version (15.6) is optimised for Windows 10 and contains a variety of bug fixes and minor interface changes. They also continue to work on the safety aspect of the browser against malware developers and remind users of a competition they were running to find vulnerabilities in the browser, the winner will receive half a million roubles in prize money. Also, the PPAPI version of the Flash Player plugin is improved and more stable than in 15.10 Beta.

So that's the gist of things regarding the blog entry for this latest version, 15.6.

See what happens when/if they reply to your bug report.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 03:12 PM   #64 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,176
Default

Deya, yes i think you did send me something about Yandex Club before.
Wish we could change the worn out hard disk in our heads!
Yandex auto-translate is pretty good!

Box.com advised me that someone has downloaded the file this a.m. (could be Yandex!).
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 03:52 PM   #65 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Well, I downloaded your video from Box yesterday and it's very clear in highlighting the issue you referred to so if they have downloaded it they'll have no trouble understanding the problem.

Regarding auto translate, it's much improved in this latest version. No server errors so far. I used to get those intermittently in previous versions.

I'm glad I decided to give it a try on Win10 now, because it's a really nice browser to use. I'm very impressed with this latest version so far - to say it's still a Beta version.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 04:05 PM   #66 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,176
Default

Yandex support has just contacted me.
Have tried, as they suggested, to create new profile to see if issue repeats and it does.
Activated two of their default ones (Adguard and WOT without issues) then added Diigo via Google's extension depo and issue repeated so i stopped without going further without installing other extensions. Could it be just on account of Diigo?
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 04:39 PM   #67 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Ok, I enabled the Bug Report button, that gives me four buttons on display in the toolbar. Then I installed Diigo from the Chrome Store and it appeared in the ... section. No problem.

I then enabled the built-in LastPass and Evernote extensions and they showed in the ... section without a problem, so I then enabled the Screenshots button, opened the ... section but the button didn't show, so I hovered over the blank space and the button appeared. So replicated the issue as per your video - I have no duplicates though.

So, for me, the issue didn't show as soon as I installed Diigo. It happened when I enabled the eighth extension. Also, once the missing Screenshots button shows, after hovering, it stays put. I don't have to hover after the first time for it to show.

Dunno if that helps you ... and good to hear Yandex support contacted you.

Edit; ... danielson, it's not Diigo. It seems to me to be a random issue, by that I mean that it happens whatever sequence I enable the extensions in, with Diigo completely removed from the browser and it's random which buttons don't show. It's obviously a bug. See what they say if they contact you again.

Last edited by deya; 30. Nov 2015 at 05:05 PM.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 05:24 PM   #68 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,176
Default

Good to know Deya that it's not all in my head.

I've removed all duplicate addons and could make another video but i'm waiting for Yandex support to write back.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 05:37 PM   #69 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

No problem.

I've never had so many extensions enabled in a browser before - I started to hyperventilate at one point
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2015, 07:09 PM   #70 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

In post #63 I referred to the latest version as 15.6. It is in fact version 15.12.

Brain fade.

Sorry
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.