Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22. Dec 2014, 01:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 882
Default


It seems like I did get the russian version? I actually just downloaded the installer file, opened it in 7-zip and dragged the browser-bin folder out of it and launched the browser without installing anything :S Like I said, I like portable

Though I have been playing around on VK for a hour or so, I like it more than facebook. The radio is nice touch and no ads even though I adblock them in fb, I like how they aren't there by default. VK looks cleaner overall, now I have to find english speakers on there.

I guess I'll try this out a bit before writing it off, even without the portable version.
Is there a guide to the mouse shortcuts? I mean to customize it. I found the guide here http://help.yandex.com/newbrowser/search.xml?text=mouse but I don't like some of it.

And what is Tableu? I get that it is the dial boxes, but I thought the software itself was like excel, for database work
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2014, 02:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 882
Default

can't edit but making update to the mouse gestures, I disabled default one and added the extension, seems to work well.

I'm slowly liking this browser. There's somethings that aren't right but I think it is because I didn't install it
Nice incognito mode as well.
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Dec 2014, 08:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,480
Default

The image you posted is slightly different to the one I see. Where yours says VKontakte, mine says Facebook - and I don't have the check box at the very bottom for Facebook Notifications. It's got to be a regional thing. But at least you got it working without a full install, which may or may not be the reason you say some things aren't right.

I don't use VK either but I'm sure you won't have any problem finding English speakers on there, and if you prefer it to Facebook or whatever, then - bonus.

Tableau is a word that can be used to describe a nice looking group of objects, in this case the tiles with the background image, and I think that's why they've chosen to call it that. It's not the data software you refer to. Speed dial in Opera, Tableau in Yandex. Same thing really.

I'm fine with the built in mouse gestures but good to know you can override them as you describe, with an extension, and there are keyboard shortcuts;

http://help.yandex.com/newbrowser/us...ol/hotkeys.xml

I don't reckon you'll have much of a problem customising Yandex with the addition of more extensions. I've come across a couple that don't work but that may change in future versions of the browser. These browsers aren't for everyone but I like it and I'm using it a lot. I just like the look and feel of it. And seeing as how I'm using a Beta version of a Chinese anti virus I thought why not take a punt and throw a Russian browser into the mix. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Seems ok to me, so far.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Dec 2014, 07:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
pnamajck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

win-8 (64bit)
shell: classic-shell
dsl-connx

yandex-alpha build
  • vs: 14.10.2062.12544 beta (b1e5447)
  • files reside in: users\appdata\local
the yandex.exe file downloads from: http://ccache-default04d.cdn.yandex.net … size of file: 97.1mb
install (splash-screen) options:
  • offers to install yandex [utilizing default browser parameters]
  • help improve yandex services


yandex-alpha installs (quickly) … last window before program launches … asking user to choose their "default browser" (preferences).

several extensions come packaged/bundled with yandex:
  • tools:
    1. lightshot* (takes screenshots (*.png format))
    2. turn-off-the-lights* (darkens browser page for video viewing)
    3. turbo (loads page quickly)
  • syncing:
    1. evernote-web-clipper* (saves interesting info…)
    2. lastpass* (passwords/forms manager)
    3. backs up stuff (as stated)
    4. pocket* (save stories, videos, webpages for later viewing)
  • internet security:
    1. block flash banners and videos
    2. site-reputation* (web of trust)
    3. adguard*
all bundled extensions are disabled … up to user to invoke.
downloaded abp from https://adblockplus.org/en/ with no issues … enabled automatically.

first webpage i brought up was google (search engine) which appeared quickly. second webpage i brought up came up inordinately slowly … this webpage did not contain many media/images/server-calls. each successive web-page (different domains) seemed to load quickly.

Last edited by pnamajck; 26. Dec 2014 at 07:24 PM. Reason: added "yandex" to *.exe
  Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2014, 01:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pnamajck View Post
win-8 (64bit)
shell: classic-shell
dsl-connx

yandex-alpha build
  • vs: 14.10.2062.12544 beta (b1e5447)
  • files reside in: users\appdata\local
the yandex.exe file downloads from: http://ccache-default04d.cdn.yandex.net size of file: 97.1mb
.
Links to dead page in Opera and FF for me.
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2014, 09:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
pnamajck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
Links to dead page in Opera and FF for me.
thanks, garth … the appended url should be https://browser.yandex.com/future/ … opens in ffx and chr and mie without incident … and this is for the desktop version.

Last edited by pnamajck; 27. Dec 2014 at 09:40 PM. Reason: added "desktop …"
  Reply With Quote
Old 06. Feb 2015, 10:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 22
Default

Tried this, and was pretty impressed. When you open it, it looks great, particularly with the moving cloud background. I think it is probably the nicest looking browser out there. However, to get the clean look the tabs are moved to the bottom and while some people may like that, I find it a bit impractical, particularly if you use a Mac-style Dock for programs. They also tend to lag a bit, and if you have a lot open, only 5-6 might be visible until you close some and they rearrange themselves. I'm sure that will be fixed in later releases. I too have found it to be very stable for an alpha/beta, reasonably fast, I have left multiple tabs open for hours and when I come back to it, it just resumes where it left off, so no memory drain. Well worth trying out, I'd say.
maxfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. May 2015, 02:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,480
Default

This browser updated to version 15.2.2214.3731 beta a couple of weeks ago but I've not been around for a while so didn't post it. The update came via the auto updater, there's no mention of it on the download page, it still says 'You are downloading the Alpha version of Yandex.Browser'

I just downloaded the set up file again to check it and it shows as 37.0.2062.12544, so same as before. Maybe you have to install that version and then let it auto update once installed. Not sure because I can't find anything about the update except on Russian forums and sites, so no point linking to those on here. But anyway, once the browser updated I got this page;

https://browser.yandex.com/future/welcome-install/

... the 'about' page shows 'Version 15.2.2214.3731 beta' and that Yandex is up to date.

It really would help if they provided more information, and for a big company like Yandex it's poor that they don't, or even update the download page. You can understand people being put off of using it, which is a shame because it's a good browser. But there you go .....

I've added a couple more extensions, but from the Chrome Store because they wouldn't install from the Yandex/Opera extensions site for some reason. So now I have five more added to the pre-installed ones that come with the browser. They all work well.

I like using it though, so much screen space without all the clutter on most browsers. Scroll bars auto hide. Click tab to scroll to top then click again for back to where you were before. The translator is very good, very useful to me. Once set, any page auto translates to your set languages. No messing about, it just works, really well. I seriously do like the Tableau and the tiles. Much prefer it to the speed dial look that I've become accustomed to. It just fills my whole monitor screen, no status bar, buttons and the rest of it. Just clean.

It's the polar opposite to, for example, Vivaldi with all its features. And that's great because choice is a good thing. But for pure browsing, quickly and clutter free, the new Yandex layout takes some beating.

Just a shame they can't get their act together and promote it better.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. May 2015, 02:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,480
Default

Yandex.Browser has now updated to Version 15.4.2272.3649 beta.

Yandex press centre blog post with details is here;

https://company.yandex.com/press_cen...try.xml?pid=70

Review at TNW is here;

http://thenextweb.com/apps/2015/05/2...vacy-features/

Updated download page is here;

https://browser.yandex.com/?userchoice=1

New features include Stealth Mode, enabled by default. Some extensions are built in, including WOT, which need to be enabled from the extension page.

I did a clean install this time. 112 MB download and 478 MB installed - which will put some people off but it is what it is. If you're not bothered about that it's worth a try now. It's a very good browser. I'm not going to install any extra extensions just yet, instead I'm going to use the built in ones and see how it goes.

Good to see they finally got their act together and updated their site and information. They must have read my previous post

Last edited by deya; 21. May 2015 at 02:22 PM.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. May 2015, 03:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 686
Default

478 MB? Madness ...
What is included so that is so big?
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.