Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17. May 2014, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Edtor
 
v.laurie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,380
Default Adblock Plus plugin big memory user?

Has anybody seen this effect? Adblock Plus plugin for Firefox is reported to possibly use a lot of memory - http://www.pcworld.com/article/21564...ory-usage.html
__________________
Vic
v.laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. May 2014, 07:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

Mozzila had published an Hall of Shame list for add-ons in the past [ based on memory usage], and if I remember correctly AdBlock Plus was listed in the first 5 or 10 positions
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. May 2014, 07:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Our editor Faziri has actually covered Adblock Plus and its high memory usage in this article:

http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...ng-content.htm
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. May 2014, 08:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
4goTTen21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Rafael, Argentina
Posts: 400
Default

It has a high memory usage, most of time due to a few extra filter list selected by default.
__________________
You call destiny to the future you can't control.
4goTTen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. May 2014, 09:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 466
Default

I started to read the article by Faziri and it DOES look excellent but my brain just died half way through. Far too complicated for me. There must be an easier way to tell us what to click or not.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. May 2014, 04:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4goTTen21 View Post
It has a high memory usage, most of time due to a few extra filter list selected by default.
Yes the more filters you use, memory usage simply rises higher..
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jun 2014, 05:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default

That's why i use ABE and i 'm happier than with ABPlus


https://bitbucket.org/adstomper/adblockedge
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.