Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Feb 2014, 10:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

@sicknero, thanks for all the information. It's good to know I can just do these backups and not have to use FEBE. Also, the advice to keep a backup in case my FF profile gets corrupted, is priceless.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sicknero View Post
...I have 63 at the moment...
Wha..aat!
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Feb 2014, 10:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

running fine for me, i installed over old profile though. I still have my addon buttons in same place. I rather not lose them...

but this is also from someone that's using firefox 23 still sometimes because I liked how it looked :S
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 03:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

Has anyone else experienced FF27 + Flash 12 crashing on them? It's happened to me several times since I updated FF.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 03:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

I had encountered a crash recently, but I don't remember if it was with Firefox 26 or 27. But, it seemed to be a problem with that particular site I was on. I don't use YouTube or other things like this much, so I don't remember if I have used flash based stuff with Firefox 27. Will report back when I do.

If you install Flash Player, I suggest running the original flash player uninstaller from Adobe itself, rather than running uninstall via Add/Remove, and then install latest version of Flash Player.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 03:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

It is a clean install of Flashplayer and Firefox but yes, it does seem to be connected with one or two sites in particular, one especially that tends to have a lot of videos posted in threads.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 04:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

Anybody seen this yet:

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2453228,00.asp
__________________
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 04:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
Whoa! I had not seen that. That's a bad move by Firefox, and it will inspire other software developers to start introducing ads in their software, very much like the ads in the apps on Android. If that happens, that is going to be quite annoying. Not a good direction to go in, Mozilla.

Anyways, if the ads will be showing in the tiles, I guess I won't be bothered much, because the first thing I do when I install Firefox is to turn off that tile option. I didn't find it of much use, as the tiles are chosen by themselves, depending on how much we browse a site. Without letting us choose tiles on our own, I don't see any use of it. It's worthless to me.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 05:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

I always justify this kind of thing with "well that's the price of free software" but I can see it annoying some people.

I never use the default FF about:newtab either (for the same reasons as Anupam mostly) so as long as the option to replace the New Tab is still in place then I'll never see the ads.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 06:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 476
Default

I think it's a minor annoyance, but not a good trend.
__________________
T
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2014, 07:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sicknero View Post
Has anyone else experienced FF27 + Flash 12 crashing on them? It's happened to me several times since I updated FF.
I'm using Firefox 27 with Flash 12 too. When I read your post I immediately checked on YouTube and was aghast to get the message "An error occurred, please try again later".

For some reason or the other I discovered that Flashplayer was still on version 11.9.900.170 even though I have it set to "Notify me to install updates". Once I updated FlashPlayer to 12.0.0.44 and restarted FF everything worked again.

Like Anupam, I don't use Flash much so I can't tell if it's a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
Yes, here's another article about it...
http://www.ghacks.net/2014/02/11/moz...er-experience/
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.