Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Jul 2009, 05:39 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,289
Default

Thats quite a heartening news to hear, if its true. Faster startup, memory optimization would definitely make Firefox the best. I am not too sure about each tab as different process though. Chrome does that, and because of that uses more memory... coz each process takes an amount of memory, and it all sums up big.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Jul 2009, 02:06 AM   #32 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Another method here to speed up Firefox start here:
http://www.ghacks.net/2009/07/11/opt...es-in-firefox/

and also here:
http://www.ghacks.net/2009/07/11/spe...g-the-history/

I don't use the history option. Maybe I will try out the first one. If someone tries it out, let us know.
Tried both and they did make startup a bit faster (on my relatively newer machine, Firefox wasn't that slow at all, even with my 27 extensions and custom theme), but really made a difference in CPU resource usage when starting FF.
Thanks for the tip.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Aug 2009, 01:44 AM   #33 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern US
Posts: 134
Default

version 3.5.2 was just released. I received my update via automatic updates. So far no problems with WOT, Noscript, adblock plus, betterprivacy, and keyscrambler

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox.../releasenotes/
prairie dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Aug 2009, 07:35 AM   #34 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,289
Default

Thanks for sharing .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Sep 2009, 04:17 AM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern US
Posts: 134
Default

Firefox 3.5.3 was released. See here for details
prairie dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Sep 2009, 08:45 AM   #36 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,289
Default

You beat me to it . I saw it on download sites, and some blogs yesterday, but was waiting for the download to be there on Mozilla site.

Anyways, I read on a blog, the update required Windows to reboot. It didn't happen with me, so I pity the blogger .

I was also expecting that this release will check for third party add-ons, and plugins to see if they are outdated, as mentioned on some blogs. But, I don't think Mozilla has incorporated the feature in this release. If someone does notice that Firefox is checking for the third party add-ons like Adobe Flash Player, please do tell here.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Sep 2009, 01:55 PM   #37 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern US
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
You beat me to it . I saw it on download sites, and some blogs yesterday, but was waiting for the download to be there on Mozilla site.

Anyways, I read on a blog, the update required Windows to reboot. It didn't happen with me, so I pity the blogger .

I was also expecting that this release will check for third party add-ons, and plugins to see if they are outdated, as mentioned on some blogs. But, I don't think Mozilla has incorporated the feature in this release. If someone does notice that Firefox is checking for the third party add-ons like Adobe Flash Player, please do tell here.

No reboot of windows here
prairie dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Oct 2009, 06:58 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,289
Default

Firefox 3.5.4 has been released. Please look here for more:

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox.../releasenotes/

I beat you this time prairie dog .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Oct 2009, 10:49 AM   #39 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,203
Default

Is it true that if you click "upgrade" from the GUI you get directed to the Opera download page?
Attachment 343
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.

Last edited by MidnightCowboy; 15. Oct 2010 at 07:18 PM.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Oct 2009, 10:58 AM   #40 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,824
Default

Something wrong with the click button?
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.