Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06. Jul 2009, 01:25 AM   #21 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,196
Default

No problems for me either. Running with NoScript, RefControl, FoxClocks , Cookie Monster, LinkExtend, Dr. Web Link Scanner and the plug-in for Free Download Manager. So far - faultless.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jul 2009, 08:31 AM   #22 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 466
Default

Likewise with Aging Tabs, Roboform, All-in-one Sidebar, Forecastfox, .NET Framework Assistant, MinimizeToTray and ReloadEvery.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jul 2009, 02:22 PM   #23 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Georgia , USA
Posts: 68
Default

I had to go back to my former version of Firefox for the time being.
The 3,5 version loaded very slow expecially images. But also heavy webpages. I will wait a while before I download it. It just did not run as well as the version I was using. At least not yet.
Jillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2009, 06:16 AM   #24 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

LinkExtend is working for me again. It seems to be another problem I've experienced before restoring from a disk image days ago.
Also using Adblock Plus, Add to Search Bar, All-in-One Sidebar, BetterPrivacy, BugMeNot, Canadian English Dictionary, CustomizeGoogle, DownThemAll!, Fasterfox Lite, IE Tab, LastPass, Menu Editor, Nightly Tester Tools, NoScript, Privacy Choice Plug-in, Save Image to Folder, Session Manager, SkipScreen, Splash, StumbleUpon, Surf Canyon, Tab Mix Plus, Tiny Menu, UrlbarExt, and Webmail Notifier with no visible problems.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2009, 01:55 PM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
LinkExtend is working for me again. It seems to be another problem I've experienced before restoring from a disk image days ago.
Also using Adblock Plus, Add to Search Bar, All-in-One Sidebar, BetterPrivacy, BugMeNot, Canadian English Dictionary, CustomizeGoogle, DownThemAll!, Fasterfox Lite, IE Tab, LastPass, Menu Editor, Nightly Tester Tools, NoScript, Privacy Choice Plug-in, Save Image to Folder, Session Manager, SkipScreen, Splash, StumbleUpon, Surf Canyon, Tab Mix Plus, Tiny Menu, UrlbarExt, and Webmail Notifier with no visible problems.
That's a lot of addons.
JonathanT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2009, 11:03 PM   #26 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

If it were not for all the add-ons, I would've switched.
I use Opera on my flash drive though, is Iron or K-Meleon better? I'm mostly looking for loading and browsing speed there (of the latest version).

Last edited by J_L; 08. Jul 2009 at 11:06 PM.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Jul 2009, 06:19 PM   #27 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,326
Default

For those of you who are having difficulty with Firefox 3.5 starting up way too slowly, you might want to check out this link:

http://lifehacker.com/5311669/speed-...+up-on-windows

It has been reported as a bug:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=501605
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Jul 2009, 06:49 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,280
Default

I had read that article on LifeHacker a few days ago. Generally, I run CCleaner after I am done with my day's work. But, still Firefox is slow to boot up at the first run. That's an old illness with FF... hope they do something about it... maybe they will since it has been reported as bug.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Jul 2009, 08:26 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,280
Default

Another method here to speed up Firefox start here:
http://www.ghacks.net/2009/07/11/opt...es-in-firefox/

and also here:
http://www.ghacks.net/2009/07/11/spe...g-the-history/

I don't use the history option. Maybe I will try out the first one. If someone tries it out, let us know.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jul 2009, 05:34 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
PsychEroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 216
Default

I hear some of Mozilla's goals for the next version include quicker startup, better memory handling, and separate processes for each tab (like IE8).
PsychEroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.