Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01. Jul 2009, 09:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
It's nice, except Tab Mix Plus isn't working properly..
Also, the open link in background tab doesn't exist anymore, it is something very useful for me. Any way to revive it?


If your having problems with addons not working this link may help. It provides 2 meathods to force install addons (caution may cause problems)

cheers
wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jul 2009, 09:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
PsychEroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 216
Default

I believe my Roboform and TabMixPlus both work fine in 3.5, although I may have special/beta versions of the add-ons.
The roboform file is called "roboform-firefox-3.0-frozen" and is located here.
My TabMixPlus version is a developer's build version 0.3.7.4pre.090107, I think I found it on their forums.
PsychEroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jul 2009, 04:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Foundation Editor
 
joe.bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
It's nice, except Tab Mix Plus isn't working properly..
Also, the open link in background tab doesn't exist anymore, it is something very useful for me. Any way to revive it?
You can use the Developmental Build that does work with FF 3.5 here: http://tmp.garyr.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9864

Also, I have updated my review of FF in the "Best Free Browser" category.
joe.bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jul 2009, 01:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Thanks, kinda to reply. Also, LinkExtend wasn't working properly either, so I've resorted back to WOT and GooglePreview.

What I'm concerned about is opening links in background tabs, I'm too used to it.

Edit
Nevermind, I just found out another easier way than using the right-click menu.

Last edited by J_L; 02. Jul 2009 at 01:37 PM.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jul 2009, 08:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,316
Default

Here is an interesting comparison between FF 3.5 and Google Chrome:
http://www.freewaremission.com/2009/...me-comparison/

Go Firefox !
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jul 2009, 02:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,838
Default

Good to hear that FF3.5 is getting faster. But how about this comparison?

Firefox 3.5 benchmarked, not as fast as Chrome
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jul 2009, 07:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,316
Default

This seems to be a more thorough test.

In terms of memory usage, Google Chrome might use more memory because it treats each tab as different process. But, with many add-ons, Firefox might not be close behind .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jul 2009, 08:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Progradminstrateditor
 
George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Frankfurt, GER
Posts: 2,296
Default

I don't know why speed seems such a big issue when comparing browsers. I really don't care since the differences are too small to make any.

As a web developer, W3C compatibility and rendering is the most important quality of a browser. I also honor continuity in quality. To me Firefox is top in these matters since many years. I see no need for me to wast time on a new browser as long as Firefox keeps up the good work.

However, in that regard I am a little concerned with the new release. I am experiencing more than usual crashes in FF 3.5 during web application tests. I am reporting all these to Mozilla and hope they find the root cause soon.

Is FF 3.5 crashing for any of you as well?
__________________
Best regards, George
George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jul 2009, 11:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
PsychEroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 216
Default

No crashing for me.
PsychEroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jul 2009, 01:00 AM   #20 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Georgia , USA
Posts: 68
Default

Thanks . I just upgraded my Firefox to 3.5
Jillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.