Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Jul 2013, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default Opera 15 Final

Opera 15 final and stable has been released, and is available for download from the official Opera site. Here is the blog post from Opera about this release:

http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog...07/02/opera-15
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jul 2013, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Just a note of caution. Installing Opera 15 Final will upgrade Opera 12, if you have it installed. So it's best to use the advanced install feature and pay attention to the install path if you don't want that to happen - you can run both, 12 and 15 as separate installs if you want to.

From the page that Anupam linked to;

"We have neither asked nor forced our 12.x users to upgrade to Opera 15, as we know that some features that are important to you are still to come. So, while you are very welcome to test and use Opera 15, Opera 12.x will still be alive for some time. You can expect that we will keep Opera 12.x up to date and secure. In the future, once we are comfortable with the feature set, we may ask you to upgrade."

This latest version, 15 Final, is running well. Very fast, but you may also have to re-set your settings and extensions if you've used previous builds.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jul 2013, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Just a note of caution. Installing Opera 15 Final will upgrade Opera 12, if you have it installed.
Use portable version of it. Now you can try it without messing with installed version.
Panzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jul 2013, 10:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

I'll be staying with Opera 12 for the foreseeable future. It appears that too many of the features I use have been removed or messed with in Opera 15.

I will install Opera Next to play with and watch how it develops over time though. I'll give it a chance to grow on me
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jul 2013, 02:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Opera 15 updated to 15.0.1147.138.

The earlier version was 15.0.1147.130.

Opera have made the site really difficult to navigate. Finding things is difficult. Why can't they just provide the changelog there itself, besides the download.

I had to look all over the place before I could locate it. Other links to the site are accessible from a little box with lines in it... now who would think of looking there unless you move the mouse over it by accident? So, first you have to locate that. After that, you have to figure out, where could the changelogs be? I got lucky by clicking on Help. There I found Changelogs, but still, had to click on Windows to select right platform, and then the version. Even then, the changelog is not updated.

It's really bad web designing.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jul 2013, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,940
Default

Opera 15 includes auto-update feature just like Chrome. It runs in the background while you start the browser and continues running every time. Although this is great, some users might dislike it. You cant' disable this, atleast from the options menu. What I did is to rename the opera_autoupdate.exe in the installation folder.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jul 2013, 07:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,940
Default

Does anyone know about a way to add or edit custom search engines in Opera 15? It seems like this feature isnt' available.

In Opera 12, all you had to do is to right click on the address bar or go directly to the settings page.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jul 2013, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

The Opera team have already made clear that many features will not be available in Opera 15. They will add the features slowly. That's why, they won't be asking users using Opera 12 to upgrade to Opera 15.

Users will have to be patient for new features to start appearing in Opera.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jul 2013, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

I installed Opera 15 on my Windows 7 laptop today.

Interface wise, I do like the look and feel of Opera 15 compared to the old Opera. Although it's based on Chromium, but it does not really feel like using a Chromium based browser. Maybe it's the Windows 7 feel, I don't know.

I noticed that you cannot complete the URL by automatically adding www and com by pressing Ctrl+Enter. Is that a bug, or something deliberate on their part? Whatever, but it's a bad thing.. that shortcut not working. Do they expect us to type the full address, or search for it everytime?

Another thing I noticed is that clicking on the Start page icon, it opens the start page on the same tab itself, whereas it should open up in a new tab.

Yes, there is no Search management for now. They should add this in the future versions. But, they could have provided this in this version too. Is that much big of a deal? Anyway, let's see what comes in future versions.

In the settings, the setting for "Automatically send usage statistics and crash reports to Opera" is set by default. Users should disable this, in case they do not want this information being sent.

The settings are like Chrome, but in terms of customization, there didn't seem much. There is no setting to show a Home icon... none at all.

It did seem faster to open websites on Opera though.

Let's see how it develops further. Things could work well for Opera with this, if they could make their own identity despite being based on Chromium, and get all those features back, which made Opera different from other browsers.

The setup size is quite big though, and the install size too.. 150 MB. Wasn't Blink made leaner?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Jul 2013, 03:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
The Opera team have already made clear that many features will not be available in Opera 15. They will add the features slowly. That's why, they won't be asking users using Opera 12 to upgrade to Opera 15.

Users will have to be patient for new features to start appearing in Opera.
Thanks for the information. I now understand why they haven't taken down Opera 12 yet.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.