Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27. Jun 2013, 04:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

this is odd, I've narrowed the flash not working to having something to do with sandboxie :S Inside it, it doesn't work. Open it outside of sandboxie, and it works. I'll post this over at sandboxie forum if I can't figure it out. Has anyone else had this problem?
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 05:45 PM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Eyeb, I never have problems between Flash, Firefox and Sandboxie but all the time people are complaining about it in the SBIE forum. Most of the time the problem really has nothing to do with SBIE and is taking care of by either disabling hardware acceleration or disabling protected mode in Flash. Since you are using a portable version of Flash and it is working out of the sandbox, I would try the version that actually installs in the computer to see if the problem is the portable version.

You can use SBIE for the test. Create a new sandbox, leave settings on default, name it Flash and set the sandbox not to delete on closing. Then run Firefox in it and try to play videos in Youtube. If it works, you can keep that sandbox and only use it when Flash is required. It would work sort of as portable Flash.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 06:14 PM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sicknero View Post
Is that all achieved in about:config? There was a "tabs on top" add on before Mozilla made the option a part of FF, maybe that will have a revival....
Most of the changes were done automatically as I did an over the top installation (sandboxed). Some were done using the Menu bar. I didnt really have to use about:config.

The "browser.tabs.onTop" preference showed up in my about:config but it didnt do nothing when I changed the Value from False to True or from True to False. Next time I ll play with that browser, I ll try something else to get that working, I have an idea of something else that I can try.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 06:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Most of the changes were done automatically as I did an over the top installation (sandboxed). Some were done using the Menu bar. I didnt really have to use about:config.

The "browser.tabs.onTop" preference showed up in my about:config but it didnt do nothing when I changed the Value from False to True or from True to False. Next time I ll play with that browser, I ll try something else to get that working, I have an idea of something else that I can try.

Bo
Cheers Bo that's interesting, I might have a play with it myself over the weekend. I'd be very interested if you do find a way to make tabs on top as that's something I'd really really miss.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 07:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sicknero View Post
I'd be very interested if you do find a way to make tabs on top as that's something I'd really really miss.
In Firefox 22, preference "browser.tabs.onTop" do work. Go to about:config and change it to False if you want Tabs under the address bar (look at the picture of Firefox that I posted earlier in the thread). That is the way I like it and have it now. If you like Tabs on top, that is default and the Preference should be set to True. If you change the Preference to False, the option to change it one way or another will show up in the Menu bar>View>Toolbars.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 08:40 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall.a View Post
Sorry Bo, I am looking elsewhere. When I do a cold-start of Firefox and it takes 18 seconds to open on my I7 laptop and Chrome opens in less than 5, I get pretty irritated. That, along with the update schedule and my add-ons no longer working, has led me to think seriously of giving up on FF. I have been a HUGE FF fan for years; but that might be changing.

My biggest issue with Chrome is the inability to set a cache size. I used CCleaner yesterday and it found over 200 MB in the Chrome cache?! In every other browser I use, I set the cache size at 50 MB max.
This suggestion might also be worth a try.

It did make a difference on my WinXP system.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 08:59 PM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sicknero View Post
Yuk, that's hideous If I wanted Chrome I would use Chrome.

This ridiculous update schedule will also I think cost Mozilla a lot of users who (me included) are drawn to FF because of all the great add-ons that are available.

If the situation becomes such that add-on developers give up on it, and if it just looks like Chrome anyway, then for me at least that would pretty much kill off the motivation I have to stick with it.
Yikes indeed, Mozilla really tries hard to drive even hardcore fans* of Firefox straight to Chrome - if it looks, feels and works like Chrome but isn't Chrome... what's that saying about the real thing? - because I have serious trouble seeing this horrendous "overhaul" working the other way around, if that's the goal.

I'll keep a shred of hope for now that the mentioned
Quote:
More Customizable
will still be Firefox quality and style like and not Chrome.

* users and add-on developers

EDIT: Here's an interesting thread about Australis that managed to kill any shred of hope I had about customization in about five minutes of reading
Time to check out what the plans for PaleMoon are
__________________
26Dolphins

Last edited by 26Dolphins; 27. Jun 2013 at 09:38 PM.
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 10:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Can't edit my previous post anylonger - and I promise, this is my last post on this topic for today.

Things are looking a lot more promising for PaleMoon - read here Windows users and rejoice

Time to fully switch to PaleMoon on Windows?
More research needed for Linux.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2013, 11:58 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Things are looking a lot more promising for PaleMoon - read here Windows users and rejoice

Time to fully switch to PaleMoon on Windows?
I did try Palemoon a few months ago and like it. In time, I might just make the switch myself. I remember Palemoon resembling the old Firefox more than what Firefox does now. And yes, Tabs under the address bar was default. Thanks Dolphins for bringing this up.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jun 2013, 12:00 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
In Firefox 22, preference "browser.tabs.onTop" do work. Go to about:config and change it to False if you want Tabs under the address bar (look at the picture of Firefox that I posted earlier in the thread). That is the way I like it and have it now. If you like Tabs on top, that is default and the Preference should be set to True. If you change the Preference to False, the option to change it one way or another will show up in the Menu bar>View>Toolbars.

Bo
Thanks for that :-) Personally I like my tabs up in the title bar with menus hidden, mostly just for the extra few pixels of space it provides for the main browser window, but I still resent the idea of having the option taken away from me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Yikes indeed, Mozilla really tries hard to drive even hardcore fans* of Firefox straight to Chrome - if it looks, feels and works like Chrome but isn't Chrome... what's that saying about the real thing? - because I have serious trouble seeing this horrendous "overhaul" working the other way around, if that's the goal.

I'll keep a shred of hope for now that the mentioned

will still be Firefox quality and style like and not Chrome.

* users and add-on developers

EDIT: Here's an interesting thread about Australis that managed to kill any shred of hope I had about customization in about five minutes of reading
Time to check out what the plans for PaleMoon are
That is pretty sad reading... no more add-on bar (aka status bar), limited options for putting buttons where you want them :-(

I'll wait and see what direction Comodo decide to go in with their versions I guess.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.