Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14. May 2013, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default Firefox 21

Firefox 21 has been released and is available for download on the official Mozilla site. The release notes have not been updated yet.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. May 2013, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

aside from the do not track addition, i cant see anything new :S

edit: found release notes https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo.../releasenotes/

Last edited by eyeb; 14. May 2013 at 07:09 PM.
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. May 2013, 06:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Well, there are changes, but not of our interest .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. May 2013, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeb View Post
aside from the do not track addition, i cant see anything new :S

edit: found release notes https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo.../releasenotes/
Are you kidding, the biggest change I see is that 20 became 21
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. May 2013, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

firefox 21? Oh no! something must be wrong here....I just checked my version and it says "Firefox 22.0a2". Jokes apart, I'm on the Aurora channel right now ..but thanks for the heads up!

Last edited by Concerned User; 15. May 2013 at 06:24 PM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. May 2013, 04:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default A strange thing happened when trying to update to v21

Firstly, on my W7 x64 machine I have Firefox set to notify me whenever an update is available but not to update automatically. That's because I mostly run FF sandboxed.

Today, I got the notification to update, so I closed my sandboxed FF when I was done with my usual tra-la-la. I then launched FF unsandboxed and checked for the update and downloaded the setup file for v21. When I double-clicked to launch the setup, I noticed that the location it said it would install to was C:\Users\*my username*\AppData. I found that strange but nevertheless continued. When it was done I noticed that I had 2 FF desktop icons now .

Further checks revealed that I indeed had both v20 and v21 in two separate locations . I then decided to uninstall v21 from Control Panel>Uninstall a program. When that was done, I found there was still a FFv21 file in the list of installed programs (I seem to recall it had to do with settings). Right clicking that brought up a dialog box that said something about an error had occurred and if I wanted to delete the file - I selected Yes and sent it to the recycle bin.

I still had the setup file for v21, so I decided to run it again. Lo and behold, it came up with the correct location this time, i.e. C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox. So I proceeded and everything installed correctly when I checked afterwards.

I am still puzzled by what happened. Has anyone ever experienced this?
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. May 2013, 12:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Very strange Joe... never experienced, or read about that. I too can't figure out why that happened. Very strange.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. May 2013, 03:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Thanks for the reply Anupam. As a matter of fact, I just discovered that my brother (who is more n00b {is there such a word?} than me) also has 2 installations FF on his computer. Apparently, he updated after checking with Secunia. Still, isn't the FF installer suppose to check if you already have FF on your system, and if so either install over the top of the old version or remove/uninstall it first?
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. May 2013, 04:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Happened with your brother too? That's really strange. Yes, Firefox should install over the existing version, and that's what it does everytime, atleast with what I have installed.

I had installed Firefox via the setup itself, but I did a fresh install. I will try installing on another PC, and I will install over the top. Will report back.

Does your brother have Win x64 machine too?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. May 2013, 07:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Yes to both questions Anupam. I just fixed it for him.

I think looking at the location the installer chooses will be enough to tell you if the correct location is automatically chosen. No need to actually complete the install, just cancel at that point. The crazy part is that when I launched the very same installer which I had saved, for the 2nd time, the location showed correctly, i.e. C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox. That's the screwy part .

And yes, I remember you saying you prefer to do a fresh install of FF. For me, I find if I do that then I have to go through the hassle of resetting all my configurations. Maybe there's a way to export and save your settings then re-import them, but it's still a hassle I find .
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.