Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21. May 2013, 12:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

use febe to save settings/addons....

I just copy the profile folder and reuse it myself
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. May 2013, 04:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

I installed Firefox 21 on the laptop with Vista on it, and it installed without a problem. I did over the top installation, and the installation was done in the proper place.

Yes, if you do a fresh installation, all things have to be restored, including settings. But, it's not a big problem. I have now noted down what all changes I need to make after a fresh installation. It takes sometime doing them, but not much.

For bookmarks, I use Xmarks. So, I don't have to worry about the bookmarks. They can be restored very easily with Xmarks. It also provides an online backup.

For extensions, and browser settings, I use FEBE, as mentioned by eyeb. I have been using it since years now, and it works great. It can take backups of extensions, themes, bookmarks(both json and html), settings, username passwords, cookies, etc. I prefer to set the settings myself, as there are not much. So, I don't back them up with FEBE. I backup bookmarks though, as it provides an additional offline backup along with backup on Xmarks.

I restore the extensions via FEBE.

But yes, with recent versions, there have been several settings that have to be done in about:config, like for download manager, quit behavior, pdf reader turning off, click to play... that have to be done manually. That's why I have noted them down.

So, that's how I do it.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. May 2013, 05:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Thanks for the feedback Anupam. I wish I had taken a screenshot at the time - too late for that now. Thanks too to you and eyeb for mentioning how you use FEBE and Xmarks.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. May 2013, 06:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

My pleasure .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. May 2013, 08:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,940
Default

Three things comes into my head when I think about the issue you had.

1. For softwares that wants to automatically update itself (a.k.a Maintainence service), appdata folder is the easier route to install, as its write enabled by default for normal users (this is not the case for Program Files folder) and hence exe's and dll's can easily be replaced secretly in the background without any permission problems coming in the way. This is how Chrome has been designed, and appdata is where Chrome is installed too for the online installer. (For the offline installer, you can set Program Files as your location)

2. Having your software installed into appdata folder, only the current user can run the software and it will be available only for that person. This design is good if you've multiple users in your system. It'll be hidden for the rest of the users, except the administrator.

3. You can run multiple versions of the same program, for different users on the same system, yet access only one version for the same user. For instance you can have Firefox 20 installed, while your wife/brother/child can run Firefox 21 etc.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!

Last edited by George.J; 22. May 2013 at 08:07 PM.
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. May 2013, 10:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Thanks for your input George.J. Yes, I follow you with all 3 points, but what puzzles me is why the same installer didn't present Program Files (x86) as the target folder the 1st time, yet it did so the 2nd time.

Now it's not that it's that great an issue, I'll just be on the lookout to see what target directory FF chooses from now on.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. May 2013, 12:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,940
Default

That's because you tried to run Firefox from a Guest or Limited User Account during the first time.

You could try installing Firefox from a Guest user account, it always tries to install itself in the Appdata folder only. But if you try to install it from a user account with sufficient privileges it will install into Program Files.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. May 2013, 01:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

George.J, you could have something there about the limited user account. Nevertheless, I ran the installer both times from my limited user account. What's more, the original install was via my limited user account too, and it in installed in Program Files (x86). On my W7 x64 machine, I never interfered with the permissions for my limited user account, so it's at the default.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.