Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23. Feb 2014, 02:12 PM   #71 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,297
Default

I decided to try out Maxthon, after seeing the response here.

I had installed Maxthon on my laptop, but I did not use it much there.

For my PC, I decided to download the portable version, since I want to keep my PC generally clean of experiments.

I have encountered some strange experience with the portable version. I had downloaded last to last version, and when I tried to run it, it kept freezing up. Ultimately, I decided to give up on it. I tried the last version again, and I found same problem. I downloaded the latest version, and I think I might have located the problem, but it's really strange.

I have a D drive. I download the files from internet in a Downloads folder in the D drive. I have another folder "Portable Software", for software that are portable. So, earlier, I was moving Maxthon to that folder, and tried running from there. This time, for some reason, I decided to run Maxthon from Downloads folder itself. It ran fine. When I copied the Maxthon folder to Portable Software folder, I encountered problem. There, it just won't run. The Maxthon process would show up in Task Manager, but it won't run. Ultimately, I have to kill the process. And if one process is running and I try to click on the exe and run again, it opens and freezes, and I have to kill it again.

When I move the folder to Downloads folder, it opens fine again.

Apparently, the portable version seems to be having problem running from folder in "deeper" level. That's one strange problem that I have not seen in any other portable software. If it's portable, it should run from anywhere. I am sure this was the problem with previous versions that I tried too.

Anyone else running portable Maxthon can confirm this? I am running Windows 8.1 btw.

I had tried Maxthon on my laptop though, and although it's good, I still had some points about it. I will write again when I run it on laptop sometime.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Feb 2014, 06:04 PM   #72 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

Curious, mine has quite a lengthy path - D:\Portable Software\Internet\MaxthonPortable\Bin\Maxthon.exe - and has always run ok.

My problem with the latest version is that it seems to have issues syncing with my Passport account.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Feb 2014, 06:19 PM   #73 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,297
Default

That's quite strange. Yours and mine path is almost the same, except for your Internet folder in between. Still, for some reason Maxthon refuses to run from there. I am quite baffled with this .

As an experiment, I moved the folder to E drive, in another folder, and from there it worked fine. I moved back to D, into the Portable Software folder, and like you, created Internet folder, and moved there.. won't run. Seems like it has some problem with Portable Software folder
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Feb 2014, 07:49 PM   #74 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

That's a bit of a head-scratcher.

Maybe if you'd had Maxthon installed previously on that machine it could explain it but you haven't. Occasionally I come across a portable that won't accept long paths (Calibre for e.g.) but that obviously isn't the problem here.

I really don't know sorry, the only obvious difference is that you're on W8 and I'm on 7 but I've no idea what difference that would make.

I'll have a think and see if there's anything on the community forum as well.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2014, 05:21 AM   #75 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
joeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
That's quite strange. Yours and mine path is almost the same, except for your Internet folder in between. Still, for some reason Maxthon refuses to run from there. I am quite baffled with this .

As an experiment, I moved the folder to E drive, in another folder, and from there it worked fine. I moved back to D, into the Portable Software folder, and like you, created Internet folder, and moved there.. won't run. Seems like it has some problem with Portable Software folder
Maybe a bad sector where its trying to write? just a thought.
__________________
To err is human, to blame it on a computer is even more so.
joeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Feb 2014, 08:52 AM   #76 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeguru View Post
Maybe a bad sector where its trying to write? just a thought.
I don't think this should be the issue.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2014, 02:47 PM   #77 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,297
Default

Maxthon updated to 4.3.1.2000.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Apr 2014, 03:13 AM   #78 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,331
Default

I have been an avid fan and strong supporter of Maxthon for the past 6 months to a year. I do find it the fastest of all "major" browsers.

However, I think I'm going to start looking for a replacement for 2 reasons; 1 relatively minor, and 1 more significant. Minor--Maxthon repeatedly forgets my home page. A couple times per week I have to go into settings and reset or re-establish my home page. For some reason, Maxthon forgets it.

The more significant reason for me is the lack of a decent Evernote add-in. In this case, I mean the "web clipper" extension found in say Chrome. I have found that I really miss this function or extension.

So, I am considering portable Chrome. We'll see how this experiment goes.
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.