Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Aug 2012, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default Firefox 15

Firefox 15 is not yet available in the main site properly though when I did check for updates, I got the message "updates available at firefox.com".

Guess it is being rolled out....

If you do go to the beta link, you end up getting the proper version:

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox...-requirements/


Release notes here:

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/15.0/releasenotes/


Over the topped and everything is working fine. Looks the "addon leaks" might have been finally fixed with this version (at least that's what the release notes say).

More on that here:

http://download.cnet.com/8301-2007_4...et-old-memory/

The in-built pdf reader seems to be okay...to enable it, change pdfjs.disabled preference to false in about: config. However, it does seem to gobble up more memory especially for pdfs which have a lot of images et al.....so be warned...However, it seems to be a decent effort.


Last edited by Concerned User; 28. Aug 2012 at 05:55 PM.
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Aug 2012, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Darn it CU, you beat me to it !

Well, Firefox 15 is now officially available on the site.. just downloaded it, and I will be doing a fresh install later
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Aug 2012, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,870
Default

In Linux Mint, the Software Manager prompted it for update to 15. In Android mobile, the Google Play also prompted it for update to 15. Tap or Click and it's all done. Pretty convenient. Shouldn't Windows have something like this?
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Aug 2012, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Odinbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Metro Vancouver, BC
Posts: 78
Default

Look out for Flash 11.3 crashes.
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/flash-113-crashes
Odinbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Aug 2012, 06:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odinbc View Post
Personally, I did not experience any issues with that version. By the way, there's a newer version.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Aug 2012, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

True, that might be an old issue. Flash Player's latest version is 11.4, released a week ago.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Aug 2012, 07:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

I concur with Jojoyee.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Aug 2012, 07:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

For what is worth, I updated my XP and W7 (32Bits) computers to Firefox15. Sandboxie, Flash and Firefox are getting along well on both computers.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Aug 2012, 07:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Concerned User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: இந்தியா, सिन्धु, India
Posts: 486
Default

Yup, same here, working fine with the latest versions of flash here...

For those interested, you could try out the "in content" preferences by typing about: preferences in the address bar.

More here:

http://techlogon.com/2012/08/28/how-...in-firefox-15/
Concerned User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Aug 2012, 10:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Odinbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Metro Vancouver, BC
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
True, that might be an old issue. Flash Player's latest version is 11.4, released a week ago.
With all due respect the topic is Firefox 15. Flash is not the problem, it's just relevant to versions 10.3 -> 11.4 with Firefox.

The link was to Mozilla's idea of a fix. A quick look at the differences between Bugzilla@Mozilla and Adobe Bugbase should help clear up where the problem lies.

Isn't it rather curious Mozilla says, "please downgrade to Flash 10.3" while IE and Opera users are not reporting issues?

FYI,
Latest versions for,
Mac OS X 10.4, 10.5 (Tiger, Leopard) 10.3.183.23
Linux 11.2.202.238
Odinbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.