Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > Internet, Web Apps and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07. Oct 2012, 07:58 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Strange. I will try deleting whole of SlimBoat folder, and extracting it again, to see if it detects Firefox on my system.

Hmm.. maybe you are correct about the pdf file.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Oct 2012, 04:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

SlimBoat updated to 1.1.6. Again a bug-fix release.

I deleted the previous folder version, and ran new version of portable SlimBoat. It still won't recognize Firefox for importing bookmarks from. No idea why.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Oct 2012, 07:50 PM   #23 (permalink)
Editor
 
George.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,927
Default

According to reports I believe the problem mainly lies within the registry. Especially for users of Windows XP as Vista and 7 users weren't affected. It's also because Firefox stopped upgrading the version key in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER since Firefox 4 or 3, I believe. For a complete solution, try this:

I think you're fairly knowledgable about the registry. Although, backup your registry before you do this, and revert back if this method doesn't work for you. .
  • Copy the contents of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox to the same branch in HKEY_CURRENT_USER and if that doesn't work simply delete HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Mozilla\Mozilla Firefox item.
  • Or you could also Export Firefox bookmarks to desktop as html and import it in Slimboat.
__________________
If you seek for attention, do common things in life in an uncommon way!
George.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2012, 02:56 AM   #24 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

There is a stop button available. You just right click on the toolbar and select "Customize Standard Toolbar". In the customziation dialog, you can add the stop button.

Quote:
Originally Posted by George.J View Post
I see there's no option to stop loading a webpage in Slimboat. There's a refresh button but no stop loading page button. Stephen, is it possible to provide a dual function button that lets you to refresh a page after it finishes loading, and to stop loading a webpage while it loads?
__________________
Stephen Cheng
stephench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2012, 03:12 AM   #25 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Do you use Windows XP or Windows Vista/7?

If it's vista/7, please look for the firefox bookmark database file under this path:

c:\users\yourusername\appdata\roaming\mozilla\fire fox\profiles\****.default\places.sqlite.

If it's windows xp, the path will look something like this:

c:\documents and settings\yourusername\application data\mozilla\firefox\profiles\***.default\places.s qlite

If SlimBoat can find this file, the option is available. Otherwise, it is not.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I too have Firefox installed on my system, but SlimBoat does not detect it. I am using a portable version of SlimBoat, maybe that's why?
I know I can import bookmarks via HTML, but I do not want to do that. I am just saying that the feature provided does not work as intended.

I too get the same pdf as in the image, but that's not what TSA homepage looks like, does it? It has many elements, and only a few are showing. That's not complete IMO.
__________________
Stephen Cheng
stephench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2012, 03:13 AM   #26 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Anupam,

Export as html is supported as well. It's just not the default option in the export dialog. You can select the export format at the bottom right corner of the export dialog.
__________________
Stephen Cheng
stephench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2012, 03:21 AM   #27 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Another important new feature in Slimboat 1.1.6 is the introduction of flash download control. If you have heard of the click-to-flash plugin, it's very similar to that. It makes it very easy to stop all the annoying flash ads while still give you the opportunity to view useful flashes upon request.

To enable this option, just go to toolsptions:download control, turn on the option "do not load flash object automatically". After that, all the flashes won't be loaded automatically. If you see a flash you might want, just click on it and it will load. You can apply a white list on this feature just like the ad blocker.

And, another important milestone we have reached is that we have just released SlimBoat for Mac and Linux as well.
__________________
Stephen Cheng
stephench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2012, 03:27 AM   #28 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

I have found the cause of the problem and I believe you are using Windows XP. I will fix it in 1.1.7.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
SlimBoat updated to 1.1.6. Again a bug-fix release.

I deleted the previous folder version, and ran new version of portable SlimBoat. It still won't recognize Firefox for importing bookmarks from. No idea why.
__________________
Stephen Cheng
stephench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2012, 08:29 AM   #29 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephench View Post
Anupam,

Export as html is supported as well. It's just not the default option in the export dialog. You can select the export format at the bottom right corner of the export dialog.
I noticed that change. I already wrote about this change, and also the flash download control in this earlier post of mine :

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...html#post76866
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2012, 08:30 AM   #30 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephench View Post
I have found the cause of the problem and I believe you are using Windows XP. I will fix it in 1.1.7.
Yes, I am using Windows XP. And it's good that you found the cause for this problem. Keep up the good work .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.