Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > I Want a Freeware Program that ...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Jul 2015, 06:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
Default Pdf reader for copying text

I like Nitro but i am looking for a reader like adobe you can select all-copy-paste data as a text file -know of any?
garydavid711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2015, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,255
Default

Have a look here for alternate PDF readers:

http://www.techsupportalert.com/best...pdf-reader.htm

I will recommend PdfXchange Editor, which you can download from here:

http://www.tracker-software.com/product/downloads

Although PdfXchange Viewer is mentioned in the review, but it has been replaced by PdfXchange Editor by the company. Updates to PdfXchange Viewer are also released, but only security fixes, and no new features are being added to it.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2015, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garydavid711 View Post
I like Nitro but i am looking for a reader like adobe you can select all-copy-paste data as a text file -know of any?
Open a PDF document in Nitro Reader, press Ctrl-A to highlight all text and press Ctrl-C to copy, then paste it (Ctrl-V) in any text editor. This works for me in some other PDF readers too.

For this to work, the PDF file must be text searchable in any PDF readers. Scanned PDF files or imaged text are not text searchable unless they're OCR'ed.

Hope this helps.
Jojo Yee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2015, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,255
Default

Oh, and also, you might have to select the Text tool, instead of the default Hand tool, in order to select text. Well, atleast that's what required in PdfXchange Editor.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jul 2015, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

You can copy and paste from a PDF document with Sumatra PDF. However, as already pointed out, the PDF document must have a text layer. Some PDF documents are flat (i.e. pictures of text) and you wouldn't be able to copy text from them.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.