Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Jan 2012, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default partitions?

in xp home 2003 version, if i enter safe mode with networking i can access the following: administraitor or owner.
under administrator i have no "clean up" tool or icons, under owner i have all the desktop icons.

if i turn on conputer for regular use (not in safe mode) i have access to:
owner or guest. owner has all clean up desktop icons, none on guest.

my question is: if i am in safe mode with networking, and the only icons are under owner rather than administrator, am i cleaning "all" the computer when using say just for instance 'mbam" or atf cleaner, or do i have to place a short cut at each user level or partition,

when trying to locate info on this using a general search i find to many different options and opinions and its either over my head, or i havent found the right site, probably a simple question, just not to me, lol

thank you in advance, placou 68
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
crank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Texas aka Hell
Posts: 160
Default

I'm really on shaky ground in XP, and I don't really quite get what all you are asking, but if it is whether a anti-virus-type application scan will investigate all the installed programs and the system, it should, does it not go into administrator mode, I mean require some kind of authorization before it will start to do its thing?
__________________
you must be joking, oh man you must be joking
crank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crank View Post
I'm really on shaky ground in XP, and I don't really quite get what all you are asking, but if it is whether a anti-virus-type application scan will investigate all the installed programs and the system, it should, does it not go into administrator mode, I mean require some kind of authorization before it will start to do its thing?
i appologize, i dont speak computer clearly but im getting better, my question:

for instance, lets say i hit the button, turn computer on, go thru boot up and now i have the option of either being the owner or the guest. if i decide to click on guest i have 3 desktop icons, and limited rights.

now, if i boot up and click owner i have all my downloaded program shortcut icons on the desktop, if i decide to use a "ware" remover that i have previously installed, i get the message that i have to have administrator rights to use it or i have insufficient rights need to sign in as administrator, (i have seen both messages)

to sign in as administrator i have to enter safe mode with networking, when i do this, i no longer have owner/guest log in options, i have the following log on option: administrator or owner

when i log on as administrator i have no "ware" removal tools or anything else on the adm. desk top, and their not in my programs, if i click on owner (rather than administrator) the tools are located on the desk top.

if in safe mode with networking and i use the owner rather than administrator log on option and i use the "ware" removal tools from the owner log in, does it clean "wares" from all accounts that have the ability to be logged into, (the entire computer)

im sorry, i know theirs got to be a better way to describe what im trying to say, im just trying to scan/clean computer and dont know if i need a short cut for all user log on places since admin. log on has no tools, and i have to use owner log on is the entire computer getting cleaned.
god i have re-read this and i still think im having a problem describing it
can you imagine how confused i was when i tried to research this alone before bugging you'all. lol

thank in advance you for your response, if you or anyone can help i would really be thankfull,
old grey haired guy with thirst for knowledge
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 05:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
crank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Texas aka Hell
Posts: 160
Default

I think I understand. The general advice for day to day use of your computer is to log in as a user, not a guest, and you can create any number of users. It looks like 'owner' is set up as a normal user account. The idea is to have a regular user account for day to day computing, and an administrator account that you use when you need to do system-altering tasks like installing a new program or adjusting system parameters. This is to help protect you from inadvertently altering the system in some harmful way, or if a virus or other malware gets in, if you are logged in as a normal user, it can't do anything to the system since it is essentially impersonating you. So, when you need to install software while logged in as a normal user, the system won't let you and asks you to supply administrator credentials. This will alert you if you yourself are not trying to do this. Guest accounts are for letting a friend or child log on, they have very limited rights.

For your situation, I think you should be able to log in as your usual account--
'owner' I suppose, and then when you need to us the scanning software, it should ask you for admin privileges and you grant them. Here I am getting really into unknown terrritory for me, i think you maybe have not set up the administrator account, you would need to have a separate password for this account, and then supply it when needing to grant higher privileges [or 'rights' it may say]. Each of these accounts will have their own desktop, and sometimes their own suite of applications available to them. As admin, you can do anything on the PC, including having access to all the programs. This stuff changed a lot in Vista, and then more in 7 and I never used XP. Hopefully someone with more XP knowledge will step in and correct any bad info I am supplying. But, you should only very rarely need to log in in safe mode, that is usually only needed when your system is crashing at boot due to some bad driver, or incorrect system setup, corrupted file, something like that.

Please forgive this not too helpful, though really long, post, it isn't my best subject. Come back if you need more assistance, someone else will probably come to your aid, or I can message someone to take a look. Good luck
__________________
you must be joking, oh man you must be joking
crank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2012, 02:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crank View Post
I think I understand. The general advice for day to day use of your computer is to log in as a user, not a guest, and you can create any number of users. It looks like 'owner' is set up as a normal user account. The idea is to have a regular user account for day to day computing, and an administrator account that you use when you need to do system-altering tasks like installing a new program or adjusting system parameters. This is to help protect you from inadvertently altering the system in some harmful way, or if a virus or other malware gets in, if you are logged in as a normal user, it can't do anything to the system since it is essentially impersonating you. So, when you need to install software while logged in as a normal user, the system won't let you and asks you to supply administrator credentials. This will alert you if you yourself are not trying to do this. Guest accounts are for letting a friend or child log on, they have very limited rights.

For your situation, I think you should be able to log in as your usual account--
'owner' I suppose, and then when you need to us the scanning software, it should ask you for admin privileges and you grant them. Here I am getting really into unknown terrritory for me, i think you maybe have not set up the administrator account, you would need to have a separate password for this account, and then supply it when needing to grant higher privileges [or 'rights' it may say]. Each of these accounts will have their own desktop, and sometimes their own suite of applications available to them. As admin, you can do anything on the PC, including having access to all the programs. This stuff changed a lot in Vista, and then more in 7 and I never used XP. Hopefully someone with more XP knowledge will step in and correct any bad info I am supplying. But, you should only very rarely need to log in in safe mode, that is usually only needed when your system is crashing at boot due to some bad driver, or incorrect system setup, corrupted file, something like that.

Please forgive this not too helpful, though really long, post, it isn't my best subject. Come back if you need more assistance, someone else will probably come to your aid, or I can message someone to take a look. Good luck
that actually puts me on the right path, i suspect i dont have the admin. set up, i didnt know that had to be done manually, as it currently stands i dont have any way to "give the admin. rights" to use some things and its confusing when i try to do something and get a message saying "i dont have sufficient rights to do.....log in as admin. ( ComboFix most recently ) and when i go to admin side of computer theres nothing there. i,ll research the set up process and see where that leads me......thanks for your time and effort
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2012, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,296
Default

Hi Placou, I have understood what you are trying to say.

crank has explained some things right. There can be several accounts on the system. An administrator account is always there. Its set up from before, and therefore, it will be on your system too.. you don't have to set it up separately.

Generally, at the time of installation of XP, another account is set up, which is either similar to the admin account, or, a limited user account, like the "Guest". Seems like yours might be a limited user account, and that's why it asks programs which require change in the system, to be run as administrator.

Since there can be different users on the system, the users have their own desktops, and own folders like My Documents. Some programs can be installed for all users, and some for the current user only, from where the program is installed.

Safe Mode is not for changing users, but it is for diagnostic purposes. In Safe Mode, some drivers do not load, some processes do not load, etc. Therefore, if your computer is infected, its advisable sometimes to run security software from Safe Mode, since the malware processes are most unlikely to run in Safe Mode. So, it is to be used for diagnostic purposes, or in special cases only, like removing some software, etc.

I don't know which "ware" remover are you talking about. What is it? Is it an uninstaller program? If its free, you can tell the name here. Will be helpful if we know what program you are referring to.

Anyways, if it requires to be run as Administrator, you can do two things. You can right click on the program, and choose "Run as...". There you will see under the radio button "The following user". Under that you will see Administrator already written. So, you can choose that. Generally, the password will be empty, if you have not set anything during Windows installation. So, just select Administrator, and click OK... things should be good to go.

Or, another method is to log in to the computer as Administrator. For that, click on Start, and choose "Log off", which will be besides "Turn Off Computer". Click on "Log off". It will log off the current user. Now, you will either see two boxes with ID and Password fields, or just the current user name, on the screen, depending on how the User Accounts is set in the control panel. If you see the two boxes, simply write Administrator in the ID field, and log in.

If you only see current user name, with no boxes... then on that screen, press "Alt+Ctl+Delete". After one or two presses, the screen with boxes will come up. So, as said before, write "Administrator" in the ID field. Password should be blank(empty), and log in. You will be logged in as Administrator.

Now, Administrator has full rights to the system. So, even if you do not see the program icons on the desktop, does not matter. The programs can still be accessed from the "Program files" folder, or Start menu. So, locate the program that you are trying to run, and things will be good to go.

Also, you can uninstall programs from Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel.

So, this is how you can run programs, or uninstall them.

I saw you mention ComboFix in your post. Please do not run that program on your own. That software is quite powerful, and not meant to be run by general users, who do not have much idea about computers, or software.

ComboFix is meant to be run in case of severe malware infection, or persistent malware infection. If you are infected, then its advisable to go to a help forum, which can help you deal with the infection.

I hope I am able to explain things properly, and in the way you wanted. If not, please ask again, or any other queries that you have.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2012, 06:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Hi Placou, I have understood what you are trying to say.

crank has explained some things right. There can be several accounts on the system. An administrator account is always there. Its set up from before, and therefore, it will be on your system too.. you don't have to set it up separately.

Generally, at the time of installation of XP, another account is set up, which is either similar to the admin account, or, a limited user account, like the "Guest". Seems like yours might be a limited user account, and that's why it asks programs which require change in the system, to be run as administrator.

Since there can be different users on the system, the users have their own desktops, and own folders like My Documents. Some programs can be installed for all users, and some for the current user only, from where the program is installed.

Safe Mode is not for changing users, but it is for diagnostic purposes. In Safe Mode, some drivers do not load, some processes do not load, etc. Therefore, if your computer is infected, its advisable sometimes to run security software from Safe Mode, since the malware processes are most unlikely to run in Safe Mode. So, it is to be used for diagnostic purposes, or in special cases only, like removing some software, etc.

I don't know which "ware" remover are you talking about. What is it? Is it an uninstaller program? If its free, you can tell the name here. Will be helpful if we know what program you are referring to.

Anyways, if it requires to be run as Administrator, you can do two things. You can right click on the program, and choose "Run as...". There you will see under the radio button "The following user". Under that you will see Administrator already written. So, you can choose that. Generally, the password will be empty, if you have not set anything during Windows installation. So, just select Administrator, and click OK... things should be good to go.

Or, another method is to log in to the computer as Administrator. For that, click on Start, and choose "Log off", which will be besides "Turn Off Computer". Click on "Log off". It will log off the current user. Now, you will either see two boxes with ID and Password fields, or just the current user name, on the screen, depending on how the User Accounts is set in the control panel. If you see the two boxes, simply write Administrator in the ID field, and log in.

If you only see current user name, with no boxes... then on that screen, press "Alt+Ctl+Delete". After one or two presses, the screen with boxes will come up. So, as said before, write "Administrator" in the ID field. Password should be blank(empty), and log in. You will be logged in as Administrator.

Now, Administrator has full rights to the system. So, even if you do not see the program icons on the desktop, does not matter. The programs can still be accessed from the "Program files" folder, or Start menu. So, locate the program that you are trying to run, and things will be good to go.

Also, you can uninstall programs from Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel.

So, this is how you can run programs, or uninstall them.

I saw you mention ComboFix in your post. Please do not run that program on your own. That software is quite powerful, and not meant to be run by general users, who do not have much idea about computers, or software.

ComboFix is meant to be run in case of severe malware infection, or persistent malware infection. If you are infected, then its advisable to go to a help forum, which can help you deal with the infection.

I hope I am able to explain things properly, and in the way you wanted. If not, please ask again, or any other queries that you have.
thats exactly the info i was looking for, i have not run combofix based on what i have read and what you have told me, my understanding is that combofix takes more tech knowledge than the average person (me) possesses, but i did want to make sure that the default users (if thats the correct term,) were being protected
and i didnt get hacked again, i have never created any "user account", one day i pushed the button, the computer booted up and i had a "guest account" that i didnt create, all i previously had was owner account, i didnt want to go through another hacking and this is what had me concerned, and i wanted to find out why the guest account was there, thanks for your assistance,

its hard to talk computer when your a hillbilly, but im learning. lol
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2012, 06:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,296
Default

Administrator and Guest accounts are there by default on any Windows installation.

The "Owner" account must have been created when Windows was installed on your PC.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2012, 07:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Administrator and Guest accounts are there by default on any Windows installation.

The "Owner" account must have been created when Windows was installed on your PC.
i found out how to fix the issue the easy way:
pull hard drive, place computer in bottom of lake
put harddrive somewhere else in lake,
place $1000.00 in pocket, go get new one
download the 9 things i cant live without

the ones i couldnt access was: windows malicious software removal tool, and "fix it". fix it just gives me a "run time error'. i was able to get them down loaded, just couldnt access the admin rights to use them, i tried the above suggestions and i still cant get to admin side.

i very much appreciate your help and i thank you all.
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2012, 08:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by placou 1968 View Post
the ones i couldnt access was: windows malicious software removal tool, and "fix it". fix it just gives me a "run time error'. i was able to get them down loaded, just couldnt access the admin rights to use them, i tried the above suggestions and i still cant get to admin side.
We are here to help you, but you should clearly explain about the problem, and give details. Without sufficient details, we won't be able to help.

Why did you need Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool? You had not mentioned it earlier.

What "fix it" are you talking about? Can't understand.

What problems are you facing while getting into Administrator account? Please give details. Did you try the procedure I had told for logging into the Admin account? If yes, at which step are you facing problem.. or what errors are you getting... what problems are you facing?

Do you have Windows XP Home, or Windows XP Professional? You can find this out by right-clicking on "My Computer", and clicking on Properties. On that window, it will tell about the Windows installed. Please give that information here.

Just a small correction to what I told earlier, about logging in as Administrator. After you log off, you will get a login screen, with the name of the current user being displayed. On that screen, ALT+CTL+DEL should be pressed twice, to get the login screen.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.