Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06. May 2011, 05:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default OpenOffice not working

I would just like to have a copy of OpenOffice that will download to my computer. I had v.2.4 and when v.3 came out, I tried downloading it. I cleanly removed v.2.4 before downloading v.3. Since then I have not been able to download OpenOffice and get it to open. I have re-downloaded & re-downloaded til I'm blue in the face.
I get a different error message about every time I download. Every thing says a good download but when I click on the icon to open, I get the message that OpenOffice has stopped working. Well, it never opened to stop working. I have even downloaded the Portable Version and it gave me the message "component manager" could not find. I have given up on OpenOffice although I have old files saved with it. I get tired of trying to get it to work and I am not that computer literate to try all the suggestions I have had suggested. I really did like it.
zetuskid
claudec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 08:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

OpenOffice certainly does like to "grab" your system and it looks like something it needs to function correctly is now missing from these files. Possibly this was caused by the use of an aggressive third party uninstaller or registry cleaner.

It depends on what you need from a suite so this suggestion might not be suitable but have a look at Softmaker.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABL...r-Office.shtml

I have the full 2008 version which was released as a freeware promotion a while back, and I believe that others on this site also use it. This seems to be a regular event for Softmaker so you may find a similar offer with a search.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,845
Default

Try also LibreOffice, which is a fork of OpenOffice.
Jojo Yee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Good advice from Jojoyee, I will second that .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Good advice from Jojoyee, I will second that .
I thought that too, but I also thought if this is some system directory file issue, LibreOffice might possibly exhibit the same problem. Worth trying though
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 04:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

If you want to try Softmaker 2008 (the full version) I've found a site where you can still get it for free. I thought I'd try it this afternoon, entered my details, email etc. and got the key sent straight away. Installed it on my spare machine and it's working perfect, it's the same as the offer we had on here before - the full suite, but the article on the site is dated January 2010.

The site is good, green WOT, nothing out of the ordinary. If claudec is struggling and wants to try it I'll post a link to the offer on here - but only if that's ok, MC? - or maybe PM someone the address instead?
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default OpenOffice not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojoyee View Post
Try also LibreOffice, which is a fork of OpenOffice.
Well, I took your advise and downloaded LibreOffice. Just before it got through completely setting up the installation, I got these messages which I have attached:

Any suggestions?
Thank you,
zetuskid
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LibreOffice Error.jpg (20.1 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg LibreOffice Error2.jpg (32.3 KB, 6 views)
claudec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 05:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

I searched for the error, and I got some links for the same error, for LibreOffice too. So, this problem may occur with LibreOffice too, since it has got the same OpenOffice base... but you can give it a try. I think its a bug.

Also, I saw that you already have posted to OpenOffice team too. I found the correspondence here :

http://openoffice.org/projects/qa/li...-04/message/24

One of their staff asked for more details. I think you should carry on the correspondence, and give them the details they require. They will be in a better position to help than any of us here.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post

The site is good, green WOT, nothing out of the ordinary. If claudec is struggling and wants to try it I'll post a link to the offer on here - but only if that's ok, MC? - or maybe PM someone the address instead?
No problem posting the link here if it's green with WOT, in English and not supposed to be restricted to readers of Kazakstan Dog Weekly only
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. May 2011, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by claudec View Post
Well, I took your advise and downloaded LibreOffice. Just before it got through completely setting up the installation, I got these messages which I have attached:

Any suggestions?
Thank you,
zetuskid

My suggestion? - I think a shared .dll which this needs to run has been deleted, either during the uninstall process or since using a file/system cleaner which has wrongly picked it up as being redundant.

I'd try Softmaker if deya is able to come back with a link I much prefer this anyway although I appreciate others might not.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.