Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16. Mar 2011, 12:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default Prevent Google in Firefox address bar.

If something is misspelled in the address bar in Firefox it automatically returns a "Did you mean" page of Google suggestions . Yesterday i found out about an about:config preference that can be altered to prevent this happening, so if i mistype something e.g Gimo's Freeware, it will not default to Google "Did you mean" but will simply resolve the misspelled term to Gimo's Freeware.com.
Unfortunately i was testing this in my sandboxed browser and forgot to make the about:config adjustment in my actual browser, and now no matter what search terms i use i can't find the article with the about:config preference to make this adjustment permanent. Does anybody know which preference i need to change to do this?
Help appreciated.
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Doesn't matter i have it. It's "keyword.enabled".
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 12:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,289
Default

I think its a Firefox 4 feature? Because I haven't found this with Firefox 3. Good that you posted about it here. It will be useful when I start using Firefox 4. The "Did you mean" feature is annoying.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

It is indeed annoying, the irony being i eventually had to use Google to find the thing again
I wouldn't recommend this for the inexperienced user though because a misspelled address will result in "server not found" while keyword:enabled is set to "false", with no guidance on the error.
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,118
Default

My guess would be that if you type about:config into your address bar and then in the filter bar type browser you should be able to see several entries for Google.Then right click>Modify on the chosen value.

I hope this points you in the right direction as I have not actually tried to modify the values in case I screwed up my own browser settings!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garth View Post
It is indeed annoying, the irony being i eventually had to use Google to find the thing again
I know .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 03:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 467
Default

No doubt Google is the most comprehensive search tool but I don't like or trust their alleged privacy problems so I always use DucDuckGo.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Mar 2011, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
garth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 1,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
No doubt Google is the most comprehensive search tool but I don't like or trust their alleged privacy problems so I always use DucDuckGo.
Same here
That's why the "Did you mean" thing was niggling at me since if i wanted to use Google for anything i would choose to use Google and not have it forced on me because of a typo. I only resorted to Google to find the keyword:enabled setting because i failed to find it with DuckDuckGo. I fear i may have to use Google occasionally for moderating purposes
__________________
Heavy Metal + Lego = . That is all. ^.^
garth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.