Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25. Nov 2010, 11:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
The whole PC shut down with error on trying to install XP on separate installed hard drive and would not accept installation on partition. Will get more info from him when I can.
As it failed to install I reckon it could be something to do with XP having no SATA drivers as standard. Is your HDD SATA? If it is there are ways around this.


Edit: I would have thought your tech guy would know this though so I'm probably wrong.

Last edited by Sope; 25. Nov 2010 at 11:23 PM. Reason: addition
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2010, 12:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 467
Default

I don't know. (I DID say don't get too technical about hardware). In device managers there are several IDE controlllers.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2010, 09:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 467
Default

He has replied to my email and I was a bit mistaken so it may not help much. He DID disconnect the original drive and there was no actual error message. When he tried to install XP on the second drive he just got a blank screen. It was just his opinion that it was a drive problem. I have no further information at this stage.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2010, 11:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

If the HDD in question is still in your PC here's one way of finding out what type it is -
How to Know if My Hard Drive is SATA or IDE

Speccy should be able to tell you too.

If it is a SATA HDD then that may be the source of the problem?
It crops up a lot -
how to install xp on sata
You may need to slipstream SATA drivers into XP install CD if you don't have a floppy drive

(apologies for linking google searches but there are a lot of articles to choose from on this subject so I thought you might like to take your pick)
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2010, 03:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 50
Default

jim,

I hope that I am wrong about this but I started out with a Packard Bell computer and what you are describing sounds awfully familiar.

Packard Bell 'tattoo' their machines which means they write a small amount of code to the BIOS and the same to the hard drive.
If you install from the Packard Bell Recovery Disk to a new hard drive it will write the tattoo to the drive, a Windows Installation Disk does not have the tattoo so it cannot do it.
Unless the BIOS and the hard drive 'recognise' each other through the tattoo the computer will NOT work.

From what you are describing, if I am right, you have two options:
1. Create a second partition on your original hard drive and install XP to that.
2. Get hold of a Packard Bell Recovery Disk with XP on it, just have the new hard drive installed and install the PB XP Recovery Disk on that, you then have the problem of sorting out the Boot, if you are lucky when you replace the original hard drive the BIOS will pick up both hard drives and offer you the option of which to boot from, another possibility is something like the OS Selector which is part of Acronis True Image.

There is a third option which is not so simple:
Replace the Motherboard with an identical one or as near to it as possible, borrow a Windows Vista Installation Disk if you can and install from that, if you have any trouble using your existing License Key activate it over the phone to MS and tell them that the MB failed and had to be replaced, as the rest of the hardware will be the same you should not have a problem.
Then install the second hard drive and put XP on it.
After that you need to dump the PB Recovery Disk(s) so that the tattoo does not cause any further trouble.

In spite of what some people say I have never found anyone who can overwrite a tattoo in the BIOS.
If you try to update the BIOS you will find you can only do it from Packard Bell's website, not the MB manufacturer.

Whatever way you go I hope that the person doing the work understands the difference between 'master' and 'slave' hard drives and how to set them up.


If any moderator has a problem with my mention of paid software I hope they will have the decency to only remove the reference and not the entire post which might well point to the cause of the problem.
__________________
Pilgrim
Pilgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2010, 07:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 467
Default

Sope
Had already thought of that but it shows 5 different drives (apart from ones I do know about) and I don't know which is my hard drive so I gave up as, even after that, things get too complicated.

Pilgrim
Thanks but all far too complicated (and risky). He already tried the partition but it just didn't work.

Thanks to all but I am going down a different route again. Eventually trying to get hold of a small (physically) tower with XP on it and something for monitor sharing. I really appreciate all the suggestions though.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.