Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22. Nov 2010, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default Unidentified network

I recently re-installed windows 7 ultimate 32 bit. Since the install i am unable to connect to the internet. "Unidentified network" is the problem. I updated the network drivers too but with no change. How can i resolve the issue? How can i find appropriate drivers or is there some other issue since i am offline.
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
jim
Editor
 
jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: near Ashford Kent England
Posts: 467
Default

You don't say if it's a wireless or wired connection. Sometimes (if it's wired) you need to connect via a cable first and then it will connect wirelessly straight after. This happened to me on my laptop a couple of weeks ago.
jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
You don't say if it's a wireless or wired connection. Sometimes (if it's wired) you need to connect via a cable first and then it will connect wirelessly straight after. This happened to me on my laptop a couple of weeks ago.
It's wired. I reset the network adapter as well.
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 06:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,272
Default

Do you have a router? If this isn't the cause then it sounds possibly like an issue with how you need to connect to your ISP (and/or them to you) and not necessarily how your physical network has installed.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

Most ISP's have some type of installation or setup disk. Have you tried that? If not, have you tried your ISP's customer support? It might be about your network settings.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Actually the internet works fine on my other PC. So no problems with my ISP. Also the tcp/ip settings are put in correct so i think there's problem with network adapter. Just need to find out what?
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleanclover View Post
Actually the internet works fine on my other PC. So no problems with my ISP. Also the tcp/ip settings are put in correct so i think there's problem with network adapter. Just need to find out what?
So how was the internet connection setup on your other computer? Did you need to install a software package or create a special shortcut on the desktop? If so, did you replicate all of these steps with the new install?
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 08:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
So how was the internet connection setup on your other computer? Did you need to install a software package or create a special shortcut on the desktop? If so, did you replicate all of these steps with the new install?
Actually the problems are on laptop. It's baffling why the network adapter should show unidentified network. I followed all the steps exactly as they should but still having problems.
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Nov 2010, 09:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

Have you tried going into Device Manager and deleting the network adapter and rebooting?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.