Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03. Oct 2010, 03:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Please-help want to Install xp pro on slave harddrive

Hope someone can help me please- I have taken a harddrive out of one PC and made it a slave drive on another PC and want to format and install xp pro on it then put it back into the original machine again as a single harddrive. I have 2 questions - would it boot when back in the original pc and how do I do it. The reason I am doing it this way is that the harddrive has xp pro on it but will not boot up and I cant reinstall xp on it. The blue screen with "fault in non page area" on it comes up when I try to reinstall xp pro. Now that the harddrive is in another PC as a slave, I can now get into it and would like to do a clean install of xp pro on it. Both machines are 4 to 5 years old and are just standard shop setups. I hope I have explained it clearly. Thank you in advance.
dannic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2010, 06:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

The fault in non page area error can be caused by a number of things, but often it is caused by a bad memory module. I would do some tests on the ram using a utility that will boot from floppy, usb, or dvd. Also make sure you are doing a full format on the drive and check the disk errors. You should be able to do that easily with the computer it is currently in as a slave.

About installing an OS and transferring the drive to a second machine:
How similar are the two machines? Even if you do succeed in getting XP installed on the drive, it may not boot when you put it back in the other computer. I have seen it numerous times when someone upgraded their computer by putting a new mother board and other hardware in, then trying to boot. Often you can get into safe mode, then get the proper drivers installed, but not always, and even then if you are successful with this step sometimes you will experience little problems down the road.

If you do go the route you are thinking, for safety sake I would remove your main hard disk and set the slave up as a master to install windows on it. It is all too easy for something to happen and end up making your current good installation unbootable.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2010, 08:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Ritho - Thank you for your response. I cant boot into the harddrive, that is why I thought that I would try and do it when I had it connected as a slave to my old machine. If I put w98 on it, doesnt it have generic drivers, then I might be able to boot the hhd on its own computer and install xp on it, or am I dreaming. The computer belongs to a friend who is not in a position to buy something else, so its either this or end up with nothing. I am not worried about corrupting my copy of xp as I have nothing really on my Pc and can reinstall. Maybe the boot sector is corrupt. How would I go about checking and fixing it. Also how do I check out the memory module.

Thanks again for your response.
dannic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2010, 02:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Here is a pretty good memory testing utility. http://www.memtest.org/ You can download iso for writing to a cd or an exe for putting on a usb drive. Then you set the computer to boot from a cd or usb and once the computer boots from the disk/usb you will be given choices to test your ram. Pick a fairly rigorous test, and just let it run.

Let us know what the results are.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.

Last edited by Ritho; 03. Oct 2010 at 02:39 PM.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Oct 2010, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hi again Ritho - Put the drive back into its original PC and ran memtest. It would not boot into the CD. Decided to take out one the memory sticks and on booting it ran memtest on the remaining memory stick which showed no errors. So decided to try and reinstall xp while I had the harddrive in its PC. After a few tries the installation disk ran, so gave recovery consol a go (had not been able to get into it before) and managed to repair the mbr and boot sector, then I was able to install xp pro on it. Once it was installed and running I decided to put the other memory stick back in again and then rebooted. Everything started and ran. Rebooted a few times just to make sure. So thank you again for your help, it was much appreciated.

Cheers
dannic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Oct 2010, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Good work! Glad you got it sorted. Keep an eye on that other memory module. It might need replacing soon.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.