Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Oct 2010, 02:39 PM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torresmagnifico View Post
If no joy with their forum then writing, phoning or faxing maybe viable alternatives!
The good old fashioned ways.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Oct 2010, 04:16 PM   #32 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,
Thanks Sope for confirming that v.2.0 beta still has the bug. And thanks for all the interesting info on how the new version works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
...
- You are asked to select if you want to use the auto update feature during the install process which is nice.
- I found scanning to be significantly quicker.
...
This is good news

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
...
- IMO the new interface is more cluttered and confusing that the old one, and less intuitive to use.
It has changed considerably though the meaningless graphs remain although the pie chart has gone!
- The option to choose between a simple or advanced interface has been removed.
- Gone are the tabs across the top to easily select "insecure", "end-of-life" or "patched" programs.
Basically the scan results list shows all programs detected with the insecure ones moved to the top of the list.
The "secure browsing" info is not offered as default, but can be accessed by selecting it from the settings menu.
...
And these changes suck!

So, since the choice between "simple" and "advanced" has been removed, what's the interface like now? Does this have anything to do with the assumption that the user will opt in for the auto-updates? Why does every developer and his mother these days think all users are noobs who can't make a dicision on their own?

I wouldn't hold my breath on getting any kind of response to the thread Sope opened, especially if Sope's impression is more than just a feeling. It looks pretty lonely in that thread after almost 24 hours.

The more we talk about this new version the more I'm put off to keep using PSI. It does offer a quick and easy way to check for security vulnerabilities, but if you keep your system up to date, you can easily live without it.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2010, 07:24 PM   #33 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

@26Dolphins

I feel pretty much the same as you about the aspects of the new version that I mentioned.

Another feature I notice they appear to have dropped, is the ability to rescan individual files of your choice from the list, i.e. after you've manually updated them.

Here's a shot of the "Dashboard"
psi1.jpg

...and here's one of the "settings" page
psi2.jpg

PS. The "survey" that they invite you to complete on the "dashboard" screen is pretty pathetic...
just the two questions....
"How do you find the auto-update feature"
"Would you recommend v2.0 to an inexperienced user (yes or no - explain)"
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Oct 2010, 01:01 PM   #34 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Thanks for the feedback, Sope.
I can't say I'm pleased with what I see in those screenshots you posted. At least the Ignore Rules are still there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
...
Another feature I notice they appear to have dropped, is the ability to rescan individual files of your choice from the list, i.e. after you've manually updated them...
That sucks as well, but if I recall correctly, PSI does a live rescan when you patch sth (I remember a little pop-up from the tray icon giving this sort of info), so maybe Secunia thought this feature to be redundant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
...
"Would you recommend v2.0 to an inexperienced user (yes or no - explain)"
Well, that supports my point that Secunia's primary target-group are noobs and apparently treats everyone else also as a noob.

On a brighter note, I see that E. Petersen responded today, acknowledging the issue. But him saying
Quote:
We are aware of this issue, and will be investigating a solution.
doesn't sound very good.

Sope, I was wondering, since you're already a member in Secunia's forum, if you could pass along the findings about the registry mess that causes the sound to fail.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Oct 2010, 03:02 PM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Thanks for the feedback, Sope.
You're welcome.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Sope, I was wondering, since you're already a member in Secunia's forum, if you could pass along the findings about the registry mess that causes the sound to fail.
Ok, done.

Last edited by Sope; 04. Oct 2010 at 03:09 PM. Reason: update
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2010, 07:40 PM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Secunia have recently released an updated version of their PSI v2.0 beta.

Sound bug still not fixed.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2010, 08:06 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

I don't think this issue will be fixed even with the final release.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2010, 11:01 PM   #38 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I don't think this issue will be fixed even with the final release.
Sadly I feel you may well be right.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Nov 2010, 03:07 PM   #39 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi everyone.

Haven't logged in for ages, got some extra time today, so grabbed the opportunity.

I have to agree with you guys, this won't be addressed even in the final release. The route Sope's thread in Secunia's forum went is disappointing.
Look at E.Petersen's post
Quote:
We are aware of this issue, and will be investigating a solution.
Since this has been around for quite a long time, the future tense is far from encouraging .
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Nov 2010, 04:54 PM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Yup, most of the recent chatter on their website appears to revolve around them being nominated for, and receiving awards!
I wonder if their corporate CSI software shares the same bugs as the free version?
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.